Tilapia Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I rated this a 4 because when cooking the fish for @ 375 degrees 40 mins, turning it every 10 mins like directed, it was a little dry. Next time I may cook @ 350 degrees instead of 375 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
i didnt flip but once and the tilapia fell apart and it still came out wonderful though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Made this tonight. Absolutely easy! One of the easiest recipes for scampi I have found. We added about 15 shrimp to this to have some variety in seafood, added about 1 tsp of lemon pepper seasoning, and the whole dish turned out fantastic. Appreciate the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was worried because I was doubling the recipe - cooking for 7 people - and I only had four cloves of garlic. But I made it and it is SO GOOD that I can't stop eating it! There isn't going to be any leftovers! By far the best recipe I've found so far. Nice and light and doesn't cover up the delicate taste of the fish. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgaCobra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was quite good, although I made a few minor adjustments. I cut the amount of butter in half to reduce the calories and used the juice from one lemon to keep the liquid amount about the same. I didn't have whole garlic on hand, so just used the refrigerated minced kind. The flavor was wonderful and there was still a good amount of sauce left in the pan even after reducing the butter. I would give it 5 stars, but since I felt the need to make those modifications I'm going with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I kind of adapted this to my tastes a little. I only flipped the fish over once. Twenty minutes into baking after turning the fillets over I sprinkled them with a bit of lemon pepper seasoning. Five minutes prior to the last five minutes of baking I added fresh tomato for color and a little extra flavor. This was an awesome recipe and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Nichole Montrechka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This had to be the best scampi sauce I've ever had. It was quick, easy and tasted wonderful. I've tried it twice, once with fish, and the other time with shrimp...both times excellent!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saraland, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Really good! I cut the butter down significantly and it turned out just fine. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes, only flipping once (I didn't want to risk them falling apart). Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
best fish I have ever made. my family all wanted more. absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is an interesting concept. I've tried most other tilapia recipes on this site and find them to all either be too similar, too complex, or not my style. 40 minutes @ 375 is WAY too much though. I could already tell just by my experience with baking tilapia and reading other reviews. I tried 35 minutes @ 350 and still found it to be too much. I don't think I'd lower the temp anymore though. I might try 350 @ 30 minutes next time around. I added 2 tablespoons of prepared dijon style mustard based on some other shrimp scampi recipes I've tried and enjoyed. I think this gave it a more interesting flavor. I also added about 2 tablespoons of white wine. I like others only flipped the fish once... at the 20 minute mark. I also placed about 3/4 of a pound of uncooked medium sized shrimp in there with the tilapia and took them out at the same 20 minute mark that I flipped the fish at. They were an 'appetizer' and they turned out perfectly cooked and very tasty. I'd probably give the original recipe a 3/5 but based on the unique concept and potential I give it 4/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States