Tilapia Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
DH and I both liked this recipe which was very easy and used ingredients I almost always have on hand. What more can I ask for? I followed several of the suggestions - used less butter, added dijon and a pinch of cayenne, and served it over pasta. I do believe it would have been a little boring without the additional spices. With those modifications I'll definitely make it again. And I cooked it in the toaster oven - no need to heat up the kitchen on a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Similar experience to other reviewers; the dish turned out great, but the butter can be cut in half and the cooking time may need adjusting. I made the dish as described except I only flipped it once. It was a good alternative to the usual tilapia recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Wood Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good!!! I also added some white wine to the lemon juice butter mixture, and it turned out great! I also cooked it at 350 for about 35 mins and the fish was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I really enjoyed the basics of this recipe. However, I had to add my own modifications because I really like my flavors. I added ground pepper, and garlic and onion seasoning to the butter/lemon/garlic mixture. I also seasoned my filets with a few dashes of garlic powder and Cajun seasoning. The cajun kind of adds a slight punch to the overall flavor. And to top it off, I put lemon ringlets on the top of my filets to enhance the flavors. I only cooked them for like 20-25 minutes on 375. If I would've left them in longer, the fish would have been dry! I also never flipped them because that breaks apart the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Preferred the 1/2 cup butter as suggested. Added chopped tomatoes to the pan while fish cooked. 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Looking for another way to cook tilapia - this was a good recipe for something light. I halved the recipe, added just a bit of onion powder, cooked at 400 for 15 minutes on a lightly oiled cookie sheet. There shouldn't be any need to flip. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe was okay. Tilapia is almost impossible to flip 4 times without it breaking apart. Also I think 40 minutes at 375 is way to long and hot. I recommend cooking at 350 for half hour. No need to turn over the filets either. Sauce was okay. I'd lessen the garlic and add more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. I normally don't eat tilapia but would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used frozen tilapia and the recipe was wonderful. I followed the lead of others and cooked at lower temp (350) for shorter amount of time. I cooked it (frozen) for 30-35 minutes. It was PERFECT texture, perfectly moist. I used unsalted butter so I needed to season the fish with salt after I cooked it (and added a little pepper just to taste but wasn't necessary, just a preference). Don't make this recipe if you don't love butter. My family loves butter so we love this recipe. Buttery, moist tilapia with a nice garlic flavor. I had shrimp on hand so I topped the fish with shrimp. But I tasted the fish first so that I could rate the recipe! :) I rated it 5 stars because there is no 4.5 rating. I would have rated it 4.5 because I would have loved the tip on using salted butter or to salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States