Tilapia Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was very good. I was in a hurry and wanted something quick and easy. I used ½ cup butter & 1 tablespoon olive oil, and one lemon. Baked 350° basted only once no turning was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My family loved this recipe. It is very easy and quite tasty. How can you go wrong with 3/4 C butter? I did make it on the stove instead of baking it. I melted the butter, sauted the garlic added the lemon juice and tilapia. Covered and simmered until the fish was flaky. Oh, and added a splash of white wine. Very yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovely lil chef
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was very nice although I kinda branched out a bit! There's nothing worse than a mono-flavor fish in my book and the lack of spices scared me. I seasoned with old bay and adobo and melted butter before baking. I did use the garlic butter to flavor the pasta tho and it was delish. i didn't have a lemon so I used an orange (juiced) and as a garnish. I also had this a bit spicier and ate that with a cinnamon alfredo to balance it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was super simple and easy. I don't have much time with a 5 year old and a 5 month old. I didn't have the time to turn these every 10 minutes and the fish was just fine without turning it. This is a recipe that I will keep in my kitchen or a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
It’s painful for me to give this recipe a 1-star rating, but necessary as written, even tho’ it has the potential to be a great dish. First of all, the amount of butter and garlic is WAY overkill. Throw that amount aside and use your own judgment – a little butter, a little garlic and a squeeze of lemon. Then… 40 minutes to cook fish? If you want great, golden color and perfectly cooked fish bake it at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of your filets. And don’t bother to turn it! Not only is it unnecessary, you risk breaking it apart! I sprinkled the fish with paprika before baking for additional color, and fresh, not dried, parsley after. Also, I didn’t use tilapia (because I really hate it – tastes muddy to me). I made this with grouper, although any mild-flavored white, flaky fish would work – like cod, haddock, flounder or orange roughy. This dish, with the above changes, was much improved - nicely done, great color and appropriately seasoned. Just as with a good steak, if you’ve got a good piece of fish it really needs nothing more than salt, pepper and, with fish, a little lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yumm, I added a splash of white wine. I will make it in a saute pan on top of the stove next time, to make a bit thicker sauce. Delish! Quick, and easy. Thanks for the submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I only used maybe 1/2 cup butter, but increased the lemon juice significantly. I also skimped on the garlic as I was afraid 8 cloves would be way too strong, so I used 4 tbsp of the refrigerated mined garlic (equal to 4 cloves) Only required 20 minutes of cooking time with no flipping, tried to flip one of the filets at 10 minutes and it fell apart so i just left them alone for the remaining 10 min. Served over lightly buttered wheat noodles and garnished with lemon rings and fresh parsley and the flavor was very good, but couldnt really taste the garlic. Next time I will try the suggested amount, or try fresh garlic cloves instead of the refrigerated kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I reduced the recipe to 3 servings, but used 4 fillets and used the juice of one whole lemon. I also added some sliced green onions into the butter mixture while I microwaved. Served with steamed broccoli and some low-carb Dreamfields spaghetti with the extra sauce spooned over the top. My roommate and I both enjoyed this meal. She said it reminded her of Olive Garden's scampi. What a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe idea! I took a few of others suggestions - cut the butter to 1/2 cup, added 1 Tbsp dijon and 2 Tbsp white wine. I also minced the garlic instead of cutting in half (we LOVE garlic) and sprinkled a bit of parmesan on top when it came out of the oven. Added 1 lb of shrimp and cooked at 350 for 20 mins and it was PERFECT. My 2 yr old and 6 yr old ate it so fast I don't think they even took a breath, LOL. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did the same that alot of people mentioned, cooked at 350, and it was done in 30 mins, also used minced garlic, and this turned out fantastic! Very Flavorfull, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeKaser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States