Tilapia Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yumm, I added a splash of white wine. I will make it in a saute pan on top of the stove next time, to make a bit thicker sauce. Delish! Quick, and easy. Thanks for the submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I only used maybe 1/2 cup butter, but increased the lemon juice significantly. I also skimped on the garlic as I was afraid 8 cloves would be way too strong, so I used 4 tbsp of the refrigerated mined garlic (equal to 4 cloves) Only required 20 minutes of cooking time with no flipping, tried to flip one of the filets at 10 minutes and it fell apart so i just left them alone for the remaining 10 min. Served over lightly buttered wheat noodles and garnished with lemon rings and fresh parsley and the flavor was very good, but couldnt really taste the garlic. Next time I will try the suggested amount, or try fresh garlic cloves instead of the refrigerated kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I reduced the recipe to 3 servings, but used 4 fillets and used the juice of one whole lemon. I also added some sliced green onions into the butter mixture while I microwaved. Served with steamed broccoli and some low-carb Dreamfields spaghetti with the extra sauce spooned over the top. My roommate and I both enjoyed this meal. She said it reminded her of Olive Garden's scampi. What a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe idea! I took a few of others suggestions - cut the butter to 1/2 cup, added 1 Tbsp dijon and 2 Tbsp white wine. I also minced the garlic instead of cutting in half (we LOVE garlic) and sprinkled a bit of parmesan on top when it came out of the oven. Added 1 lb of shrimp and cooked at 350 for 20 mins and it was PERFECT. My 2 yr old and 6 yr old ate it so fast I don't think they even took a breath, LOL. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did the same that alot of people mentioned, cooked at 350, and it was done in 30 mins, also used minced garlic, and this turned out fantastic! Very Flavorfull, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeKaser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really, Really good. I did use only 1/2c butter and cooked less than the time stated but the flavor was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was fantastic. I made a few changes after reading other peoples reviews. I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of lemon juice (we love lemon juice in my family), minced the garlic and heated it in the microwave like the recipe called for. Poured over the fish, covered with foil and baked at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. I didn't turn it because I was afraid that it would break apart. It was delicious, flaky and my kids LOVED it. Can't wait to try this same recipe on other fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaRhoden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It tastes bland; had it for dinner an hour ago and I can't even recall it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My family loves scampi also, and I love easy. Tilapia is very mild, so the whole family will eat it since it isn't 'fishy'. I love this recipe. Moms, I HIGHLY reccomend this for your "I don't like fish!" kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used 5 cloves of garlic and since I didn't have parsley I sprinkled some dried basil and dried marjoram over the filets. I also added sea scallops to the same dish and cooked them alongside the fish at 350F for 20 minutes, then flipped the fish and continued cooking for another 10 minutes. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States