Tilapia Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
DO NOT COOK THE FISH! Ceviche is raw seafood cooked by the acid of the citrus. If you precook it, you lose the texture and everything. You only need an hour to acid cook the fish. It is obvious that the texture changes from raw meat to not raw. This is not sashimi. I added a jalapeño too. We ate it with tortilla chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
One thing I would like to add is that it should sit for at least 5 hours if the fish is raw, I personally am scared of that, so I just bring a pot of water to a boil and then add the tilapia for about 5-7 minutes until all white then drain water and shred fish and add everything else. Although I did not use the cucumber, and I like white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this just as the recipe says and I was FABULOUS!!! I love raw fish, (sashimi, sushi, etc) and I thought it was just fine marinating that long. So good! I'll make this again and again. I think it's my new favorite food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It's delicious served over tostadas. Very good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wicked Uncle Keith U got this right about the peppers. Can't have a Tilapia Ceviche without some chopped jalapeno or serrano peppers (at least not in Texas!)..and because it's raw, it really needs at least 5-8 hours in the fridge to(marinade). Also, add some cooked 'salad' shrimp, and a 1/4 cup of good salsa but forget the (Pace)use hernandez (hot)salsa, Fish Ceviche is one of the best,rate right up there with Sashimi, Sushi an rice hot cakes with Green sauce. GySgt,USMC Ret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I make ceviche similar to this all the time. I add a couple more things like grated carrot and dried oregano other than that its basically the same. talapia cooks very fast no need to wait 24 hour I've never gotten sick. You know its done when the fish turns white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I suggest to let marinate for al least 4 hours and, and when you chop the veggies keep them separate every one of them until ready to use it gives better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simple mexican cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I make this all the time and it's always delicious. I cook the onions with the fish and let it marinate over night. I also use either 3 Serrano chiles or 1 and 1/2 habanero. Can't have it without that kick, it's a must. Serve it with crab meat on a tostada and it is now called a Mixta and it is always a hit at parties. I also, cook it with shrimp or add boiled octopus to add some flavor and texture. By the way, if you pre-boil the fish, some, including myself, would no longer it ceviche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Albarran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
i would suggest letting this marinate for 24 hrs. My family has made ceviche for years fish and shrimp. and that is the safest time plus it gives it a better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not bad. I definitely took the advice of another user who boiled the tilapia for about 8 min. I am not brave enough to do raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States