Tiger Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Super easy and VERY tasty!! I love peanut butter in just about anything, though!! A little hint for melting chocolate, especially semi-sweet as it has less fat content. When melting the chips, (I use the microwave)throw in a little shortening (I used about a tablespoon for this recipe which I converted to 42 servings). This increases the fat which helps the chocolate melt smoother, stir easily, and gives it a nice gloss. Some people use a little butter, but since the water content in butter or margarine can be high, it may make your chocolate seize! Hope this tip helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe is super easy and super good. It simply melts in your mouth. One suggestion I have though is to cut into pieces while still slightly warm and then chill. Cutting it after it has cooled caused the tops to crack and the appearance was not as nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I got thie recipe years ago from a friend and everyone LOVES it. The only thing I will add that makes it even easier is that after it has chilled and it hard, I dump it out of the pan and break it into bite size pieces. No cutting needed and the "bark" look is great with the marbled top. Plus, I get to eat the crumbs after I've broken it all! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Peanut butter and chocolate is a never miss combo. However, I haven't used a double-boiler to melt chocolate in years. I highly recommend using a microwave to melt chocolate. If you're using chocolate chips in this recipe -theres approximately 2 and 2/3 cups of chips per pound of chocolate. I microwave darker chocolates (milk, semi-sweet, german) at one minute intervals on full power- stirring in between. I've found that white chocolate melts faster, so use 30 second intervals for that. On this recipe, I microwaved the white chocolate for two 30-second intervals, stirring in between, then added the peanut butter for 30 more seconds. Also, I used a smaller pan than what this recipe calls for, I like my TB a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS THAT HELPED ME: Don't stress over the 1lb. You can either use 2 2/3C or just the 1 bag of chocolate you have (which has 2C). Either way, this works out just fine. Also, crunchy or creamy pb is fine!! If you're not a nut person, know the creamy pb tastes just as heavenly [if not better] than the crunchy!! I line my pan with foil since I find that easier. I have my ingredients out and each chocolate in a separate bowl to microwave ahead of time to save time! Melt the white chocolate for 1 min, then add pb ...then continue to melt for 10 sec. intervals until completely melted. Be sure that you've stirred for a good 15 sec. or so each time you take out of microwave. Then I melt the semi-chocolate for a minute, stir for 15-20 sec, and continue microwaving until completely melted. I don't bother swirling. I thought it looked prettier w/o doing it, so again.. whatever is fine! :) I actually cut while it's just set but still kinda warm so it's easier or take out my chilled fudge until it's closer to room temp or you will crack the fudge while cutting instead of smooth cuts. Always have a slicing motion over and over ....not a sawing one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I am giving this 4 starts only because the chocolate overpowers the peanut butter mixture as the recipe is written. I first made it as written and the second time around made it as follows, which I would rate as a 5 star recipe: I made the peanut butter mixture as written, but poured it into an 8X8 pan for a thicker "fudge," then topped it with about 1/2 the amount of chocolate called for. I cut these and mailed them to my family as part of their Christmas package. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Simply delicious!!Very easy....and foolproof....This candy was a favorite! I use crock pots to melt the ingredients...Crock pots are easy to clean and as the ingredients melt, I am free to do something else. Of course, whenever I check on the progress, I do stir the melting chocolates. Also, the candy sets up quickly because of the refrigeration....I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I have always loved Tiger Butter. I was so excited to find this recipe! This stuff is sooooo good. I made batches and batches of it and everyone raved about it. They liked it better than my fudge and I make superior fudge. I didn't have the 10x15 pan so I used a 13x9 and 11x7 pan and it came out great. Fantastic recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Delicious! This was so easy to make! I melted the white chocolate / pb combination in the microwave on a lower power and stirred occasionally. I also melted the chocolate the same way (I added a bit of shortening to the mixture, I always find that this helps the melting / stirring process nicely!) This recipe is simple and delicious! Perfect for gift giving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This is a wonderful "fudge" and couldn't be easier to make! I used the microwave to melt the chocolates - make sure to use MEDIUM power so as not to burn them, though. This will be going on my list of Christmas favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States