Tie-Dye Fruity Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These turned out so pretty! Next time I will use maybe a tablespoon and a half as two tablespoons of each batter was too much-came over the top of the cups and spread out on the pan. I used part of the batter for mini cupcakes...used a teaspoon of each batter and baked at 325 for 10 minutes. The mini's are so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by circusboygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These are super cute & yummy! I used Pillsbury Pink Lemonade frosting & it paired perfect with these! 2 tablespoons is way too much! I didn't measure, but I would guess I used 1 or 1 1/2 tablespoons of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My 2 year old boys loved helping to make these...and eat them too! The biggest disappoinment was that the cake stuck to the cupcake liners...maybe due to the high sugar content?? Cupcake turned into crumbs when I tried to take the liner off. Might try with less jello next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
After reading the reviews, I was really hesitant on making these. I didn't want crummy or gummy cupcakes but I gave it a shot. I was pleasantly suprised as they turned out great! I was really precautious though, and didn't put a whole 1/4 cup of jello in each bowl, maybe a half of a 1/4 or less. I really wanted the color and not necessarily the flavor, but even with that little amount, they did taste fruity! I also messed up on the colors, I went to the store after meeting some friends at the bar, and I picked up orange, raspberry and lemon...my bad but hey they still turned out great. This time I will get the colors right and buy lime, I am making these for a potluck next week and I'm looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I would like to start by saying we love poke cakes and thought this would make a nice portable version to take to school..And it was ! After reading the reviews I was nervous that they would be crumbly and the teacher would hate me, so I bought all name brand. Duncan Hines Classic white cake mix and Jell-o brand gelatin. They turned out great ! I double the recipe and used one small box of gelatin for each color...I only used about 1 tablespoon of each batter and they didn't overflow. We topped with whipped cream like a poke cake and they were a hit !! I tried just lemon/lime they were very good. I also tried strawberry and lemon ( strawberry lemonade) also very good but for the kids we did all three !! Hope you enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olivet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
A friend made these and I thought they were so yummy I went home and made a batch! My son loved them! We used cool-whip instead of frosting and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My kids and I thought these were wonderful! I only added enough dry gelatin to color and flavor the cake, and they turned out perfectly! Not gummy or crumbly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were, of course a little more time consuming, but well worth it. My kids gave these two thumbs up! You could easily use green and red jello for Christmas cupcakes.....and on and on. The texture was a bit different due to the jello, but overall, the taste was wonderful. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Thompson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
RATHER BITTER TASTING AND VERY STICKY TO EAT FROM THE JELLO. THEY ARE FUN TO MAKE AND PRETTY. THEY JUST DON'T TASTE GOOD. TWO KIDS OUT OF FIVE ATE THEM. YOU COULD HAVE THE SAME LOOK FROM FOOD COLORING. I WOULD NOT MAKE THESE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A fun recipe. I made my own cakebatter which allowed me to lower the sugar content to compensate some for the sweetness of the jello. I also added the powdered jello only to taste (much less than recommended amount) and supplemented with a few drops of food coloring. Make sure cupcakes are baked thoroughly (a couple extra minutes can't hurt) because the jello needs some extra time so it's not overly moist. My first batch was too sticky and caved in on themselves some, but once I figured that they needed the extra time, they came out beautifully, both in terms of taste and looks. Topped with cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States