Tie-Dye Fruity Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
After reading the reviews, I was really hesitant on making these. I didn't want crumby or gummy cupcakes but I gave it a shot. I was pleasantly suprised as they turned out great! I was really precautious though, and didn't put a whole 1/4 cup of jello in each bowl, maybe a half of a 1/4 or less. I really wanted the color and not necessarily the flavor, but even with that little amount, they did taste fruity! I also messed up on the colors, I went to the store after meeting some friends at the bar, and I picked up orange, raspberry and lemon...my bad but hey they still turned out great. This time I will get the colors right and buy lime, I am making these for a potluck next week and I'm looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A fun recipe. I made my own cakebatter which allowed me to lower the sugar content to compensate some for the sweetness of the jello. I also added the powdered jello only to taste (much less than recommended amount) and supplemented with a few drops of food coloring. Make sure cupcakes are baked thoroughly (a couple extra minutes can't hurt) because the jello needs some extra time so it's not overly moist. My first batch was too sticky and caved in on themselves some, but once I figured that they needed the extra time, they came out beautifully, both in terms of taste and looks. Topped with cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was a bright, cheerful addition to our Easter dessert bar. It was easy to make. Based on other reviews, I didn't add all of the jello to the batters. It was colorful and pretty and tasty too!. I used Lime, Lemon and Orange...yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My friend and I made them for a friends birthday and they were amazing but after a couple days of not being refrigerated, they became not as moist. You can use other flavors of Jello and it still works great! LOVED THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved them! They came out so pretty and tasty! I sued a little less jello, as other reviewers recommended and filled the cups a little less too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My cupcakes were a hit at our Easter party! I used strawberry, lime and pineapple Jello...make sure you measure and only use 1/4 cup. I used regular cupcake liners and they didn't stick...not sure why other's stuck, but mine were ok. The hard part was getting the three colors in the cup at relatively the same time. I started pouring it one at a time and it looked more like layers because I was too slow pouring in the second color. So I enlisted the help of my husband. He did one color and I poured two. We did the "1,2,3 go" countdown to pour the colors in at the same time. It made a nice 3pc pie design. It was messy though, but well worth it! I don't really like cupcakes, but I ate a lot of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made these with the kids for Easter and with the modification I made in the amount of jello used, they turned out great. Everyone loved them! I think the amount called for in the recipe is too much. I bought the small boxes of sugar free jello and used the entire amount - it was only about a tablespoon or so at the most. I didn't measure for exact amount. I did end up adding one drop of food coloring to make the colors a little brighter (probably because I used less jello) but the end result was perfect. They weren't too moist, didn't stick to papers and were nice and fruity tasting. My cake mix was white (not vanilla) and called for egg whites only. They are still awfully sweet so we didn't put frosting on them. However, when we have the leftovers tonight I am going to put a spoonful of cool whip on top. I think that's light enough for this cupcake and goes so well with jello. Try these... they really do turn out pretty. Just cut back on the jello. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
It's so good!, im trying not to eat all the cupcakes before easter dinner lol. You can really taste the strawberry, lime, and lemon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Don't waste your time. Followed recipe to a "T" as well. Too sweet, gummy, Tastes like cotton candy and is just as messy and sticky. Wish I had read the reviews first. Sorry everyone. Hate to give a bad review. This recipe needs way less Jello in the mix. Still not sure if that would even fix things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
RATHER BITTER TASTING AND VERY STICKY TO EAT FROM THE JELLO. THEY ARE FUN TO MAKE AND PRETTY. THEY JUST DON'T TASTE GOOD. TWO KIDS OUT OF FIVE ATE THEM. YOU COULD HAVE THE SAME LOOK FROM FOOD COLORING. I WOULD NOT MAKE THESE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States