Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was very good, im not giving a five star though because I strongly feel that any "sauce" that is intended for the top of steaks should be cooked after the steak is done in the wonderful brown bits in the pan. Thats what i did, after cooking the steak i removed, let rest, added onion and mushrooms, red wine, salt, pepper, and at the end tablespoon of butter. Great on top of the steak. I served the whole thing on top of soft polenta. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I've made this recipe 3 times in the last month. My daughter liked it so much, so requested this for her birthday dinner. The red wine adds a lot of flavor to the mushrooms. I found I like a mixture of different mushrooms. The last time I prepared the "rub", I tripled the recipe and placed the extra in a small glass jar so I can prepare again quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I loved the seasonings for the steaks!!! It was delicious! I do not drink or use alcohol in cooking, so I substituted apple cider vinegar for the wine and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I love the seasonings used for this steak. I prepared the steaks using rib eye as it was what I had on hand. For the seasoning mix, I minced up some fresh thyme rather than dried, chopped up 1 garlic clove, mixed these with rock salt, black pepper, and paprika. I rubbed the seasonings into the rib eye steak and let it sit like that in the refriegerator for a couple of hours. In a skillet I added olive oil, heated up on medium high heat. I fried the steak on one side, searing it, until it was golden brown, before turning it over to other side. When the steaks were done, I set them aside to rest and to let the juices redistribute while I sauteed the mushrooms. To the same skillet I added 2T butter, shallots and 1 garlic, chopped up and I stirred it up with all the brown bits in the pan. then I added the mushrooms, sliced in half, stirred, added white wine, not red wine, and cooked it for a few minutes. The seasonings added a nice flavor to the steaks and also to the mushroom sautee. I really liked the flavor of the fresh thyme. The wine also adds flavor to the mushrooms along with the brown bits mixed in. My only small criticism is with the submitter's cooking method to use two separate skillet's whereas you could use the same skillet to prepare both the steak and mushrooms. The brown bits from the steaks is what really adds more flavor to the mushrooms. I topped the mushrooms on the steaks and served it along with Rosemary Zuchhini Sticks, also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This wasn't too bad. I really like sauteed onions and mushrooms but neither I nor my roommates particularly liked the flavor that the red wine added (and they're both wine people). The rub for the steak was good, though, so I think I'll just use the rub and top with plain onions and mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Fabuous! Used 1 lb. of Angus flank steak instead of New York strip and grilled it on the George Foreman. Served it with Maple Dill Carrots. Great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent steak recipe! Other than the fact that I doubled the amount of thyme, which I strongly recommend, I followed the instructions and amount of ingredients as suggested and it turned out great! I served this dish with marinated peppers from allrecipes.com along with a side-dish of tomato-basil pasta and had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon (Gato Negro) from Chile and wow, it was a great combination! I will definitely make this steak recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is an incredible recipe. Follow the recipe exactly. The thyme is the key to the tangy and bold taste. I would definitely recommend this to any steak lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband loved it. The spicyness of the rub was fantastic. I loved the mushrooms. Yummy.I followed the recipe exactly.All around excellant flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Good Recipe, everyone loved it. We prepared the steaks with the spices like suggested. But we cooked our steaks out on the grill instead of searing them in a pan, Very nice and juicy. Mushrooms, shallots and wine very nice addition to the steaks. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States