Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was very good, im not giving a five star though because I strongly feel that any "sauce" that is intended for the top of steaks should be cooked after the steak is done in the wonderful brown bits in the pan. Thats what i did, after cooking the steak i removed, let rest, added onion and mushrooms, red wine, salt, pepper, and at the end tablespoon of butter. Great on top of the steak. I served the whole thing on top of soft polenta. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The red wine mushroom topping added very little to the flavor. The rub was ok, but nothing special like I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
i didn't have the shallots so i made it without and it was still excellend. it would probably be even better with the shallots. note: if you are looking for a sauce, this isn't it, but the mushrooms are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
First time I've ever found anything worth reviwing. This was great. My family loved the seasoning and the mushrooms were too die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very good, I only rate the really good recipes and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I realized after I began making this that I didn't have any red wine. I subbed some red wine vinegar. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! I'm a beginner at cooking and this was so easy! The red wine REALLY brings out the flavor in the mushrooms -- SO good!! I cooked fresh green beans in a skillet olive oil, minced garlic, and onion peels. I also made mashed potato with chives, butter, and sour cream! I just kinda made the sides up as I went, though I'm sure it's a pretty common way to make both! Thanks for the great meal for my fiance' and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Just made this for dinner tonight. My husband and I both loved this recipe. Thanks so much for posting it. I used scotch fillet. The only modification I made was to use garlic flavoured butter to fry the mushrooms. We ate this dish with roasted asparagus and steamed broccoli. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made this with a London Broil and it was delish! I just doubled the mushroom part of the recipe and used sliced portabellos and sliced white button. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is the BEST NY Strip I have ever tasted! I made it for my husband for Father's Day, and he agreed! The steak is so tender and tasty, and the mushrooms are the perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States