Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
YUMMY! The only thing I changed was cooking the steak first as other reviewers recommended. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
The mushrooms were good, but I think that the flavors of the rub could have been explored further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Excellent. My husband said that he didn't like beef until he moved here as a young man because his mother pan fried it to death. So I have NEVER put a steak anywhere but on a grill. But it was too cold to grill so I tried this and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is an incredible recipe. Follow the recipe exactly. The thyme is the key to the tangy and bold taste. I would definitely recommend this to any steak lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
The spices are excellent. I rubbed them on the steak, then pan-fried them in canola oil. (I would have tried olive oil, but was out of it.) After the steaks were cooked, I removed them from the pan. I then added the mushrooms to the pan (without all the other ingredients). After the mushrooms were cooked, I put them on top of the steak. Very tasty. I think I will make up a big batch of the seasoning to have easily on hand for other times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I just made the sauce on this one because I was BBQ some steaks and wanted fried mushrooms. The sauce was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Absolutely outstanding. I decided to try this on a whim and was so pleased at how easy it was to make(and the taste was delicious). I have to admit I substituted a better cut of meat (tenderloin) - but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Just tried this out last night! Totally delicious! I took another comments advice though and made the mushrooms last in the same skillet I had cooked the steaks. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this without the sauce since most of my family doesn't like mushrooms, and reduced the garlic in half and quartered the pepper because of family sensitivities, and my family loved it. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
A delicious dry rub! I used t-bone steaks and the backyard grill instead. The mushrooms were the perfect touch. I totally felt as if I was having dinner at some fancy restaurant. (Served with Creamed Spinach II recipe, homemade mashed cauliflower, and store bought mac and cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States