Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was better than most restaurant steaks and the best homeade steaks I've ever had. I will no questions ask make this recipe again and again. LOVED! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
To be honest I just used the mushroom portion of the recipe... they are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was incredible! I did cook the steaks first, kept them warm in the oven, and then cooked the sauce in the same pan like one review I read suggested. The steaks and sauce turned out wonderful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiehope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
That combo of seasonings was amazing. No steak sauce needed. I used red onion instead of shallot. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I had an 8 oz. package of mushrooms that really needed to be used up, which is what led me to this recipe. I bought some beautiful filets for this, rather than using the NY strip steaks, and as suggested by other reviewers, I halved the rub mixture. We grilled these instead of pan searing. And, when plating, I made a bed of mushrooms and topped it off with the filets, reserving a few mushrooms for the top and added a sprig of parsley for color. Although the flavor of this was excellent, next time I will try this with white wine. I think the red wine discolored the mushrooms and gave them a grayish appearance. But, still very good and something we will make again!! Thank you, Lemonpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I'd give the mushroom's a 5 for this recipe, but the steak rub was not very good, would only rate it a 2, to much salt and thyme. Will definetly make the mushrooms again, but not with this steak rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
What an amazing dish! It really is not that difficult at all. It was even easier for me because I had hubby cook the steaks on the grill! My only complaint, and it might just be a personal preference, is that the steak is overseasoned. I found the rub a little overwhelming, and though I liked the flavor, I would cut it in half next time. I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper to the mushrooms and was very pleased with how those turned out. Loved the red wine! I served this with Montreal Seasoned Mashed Potatoes from this site, a salad and a nice bottle of Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of the spice rub. I normally just season my steaks with a bit of salt and pepper but this was a nice change. The mushrooms were excellent on top and provided a good contrast to the meat. I added a bit more wine and let the sauce simmer a little longer but that's it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shealyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
good! it's my first time to try cooking steaks and they were great! the mushroom complements the steak very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent steak recipe! Other than the fact that I doubled the amount of thyme, which I strongly recommend, I followed the instructions and amount of ingredients as suggested and it turned out great! I served this dish with marinated peppers from allrecipes.com along with a side-dish of tomato-basil pasta and had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon (Gato Negro) from Chile and wow, it was a great combination! I will definitely make this steak recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States