Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Followed the recipe with the following exception. After frying the steaks in the skillet, I took them out and did the onion, mushrooms, red wine to deglaze the goodies left in the skillet from the fying of the steaks. Kept the steaks on a plate to warm in the oven until I was ready to serve them with this fantastic topping. Served with boiled carrot and mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did not make the mushrooms, since I had shrimp as a side. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was better than most restaurant steaks and the best homeade steaks I've ever had. I will no questions ask make this recipe again and again. LOVED! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
To be honest I just used the mushroom portion of the recipe... they are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was incredible! I did cook the steaks first, kept them warm in the oven, and then cooked the sauce in the same pan like one review I read suggested. The steaks and sauce turned out wonderful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiehope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
That combo of seasonings was amazing. No steak sauce needed. I used red onion instead of shallot. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I had an 8 oz. package of mushrooms that really needed to be used up, which is what led me to this recipe. I bought some beautiful filets for this, rather than using the NY strip steaks, and as suggested by other reviewers, I halved the rub mixture. We grilled these instead of pan searing. And, when plating, I made a bed of mushrooms and topped it off with the filets, reserving a few mushrooms for the top and added a sprig of parsley for color. Although the flavor of this was excellent, next time I will try this with white wine. I think the red wine discolored the mushrooms and gave them a grayish appearance. But, still very good and something we will make again!! Thank you, Lemonpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I'd give the mushroom's a 5 for this recipe, but the steak rub was not very good, would only rate it a 2, to much salt and thyme. Will definetly make the mushrooms again, but not with this steak rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
What an amazing dish! It really is not that difficult at all. It was even easier for me because I had hubby cook the steaks on the grill! My only complaint, and it might just be a personal preference, is that the steak is overseasoned. I found the rub a little overwhelming, and though I liked the flavor, I would cut it in half next time. I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper to the mushrooms and was very pleased with how those turned out. Loved the red wine! I served this with Montreal Seasoned Mashed Potatoes from this site, a salad and a nice bottle of Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of the spice rub. I normally just season my steaks with a bit of salt and pepper but this was a nice change. The mushrooms were excellent on top and provided a good contrast to the meat. I added a bit more wine and let the sauce simmer a little longer but that's it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shealyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States