Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
4 of 5 for the mushrooms. They were great. But a pan-fried steak is sacrilege! Buy a grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I love the seasonings used for this steak. I prepared the steaks using rib eye as it was what I had on hand. For the seasoning mix, I minced up some fresh thyme rather than dried, chopped up 1 garlic clove, mixed these with rock salt, black pepper, and paprika. I rubbed the seasonings into the rib eye steak and let it sit like that in the refriegerator for a couple of hours. In a skillet I added olive oil, heated up on medium high heat. I fried the steak on one side, searing it, until it was golden brown, before turning it over to other side. When the steaks were done, I set them aside to rest and to let the juices redistribute while I sauteed the mushrooms. To the same skillet I added 2T butter, shallots and 1 garlic, chopped up and I stirred it up with all the brown bits in the pan. then I added the mushrooms, sliced in half, stirred, added white wine, not red wine, and cooked it for a few minutes. The seasonings added a nice flavor to the steaks and also to the mushroom sautee. I really liked the flavor of the fresh thyme. The wine also adds flavor to the mushrooms along with the brown bits mixed in. My only small criticism is with the submitter's cooking method to use two separate skillet's whereas you could use the same skillet to prepare both the steak and mushrooms. The brown bits from the steaks is what really adds more flavor to the mushrooms. I topped the mushrooms on the steaks and served it along with Rosemary Zuchhini Sticks, also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Yummy! Made it with chicken and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I didn't like the rub at all on this. The mushrooms and sauce were okay, but not all that fab. The rub overpowered the steak and was WAY to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
a little too much thyme for my taste, but another great way to cook steak indoors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was the best steak ever! We loved it so much we were drooling at the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
OMG this rub is the best thing I have come across for quick steak nights at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Reduce the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Followed the recipe with the following exception. After frying the steaks in the skillet, I took them out and did the onion, mushrooms, red wine to deglaze the goodies left in the skillet from the fying of the steaks. Kept the steaks on a plate to warm in the oven until I was ready to serve them with this fantastic topping. Served with boiled carrot and mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did not make the mushrooms, since I had shrimp as a side. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States