Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I liked this rub a lot because it adhered to the steaks nicely. I did not use the salt in the rub, but salted them as they were cooking. I grilled the steaks and used ribeyes...yum!I will definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa Estrada

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was awesome! My husband is the griller, but he travels a lot and I sometimes I want a steak, but don't want to mess with the grill. This was my answer! I don't like mushrooms so I didn't do that part, but I did fry up onions to top my steak. The crust on the steak was perfect! I don't like anything real spicy and this was perfect. I didn't have any powdered onion, so I used dried minced onion instead, but the same amount. I had 3 .5 lb steaks and this made enough for all three with some left over. I agree with one review, I think making a gravy out of the small pieces left over from frying the steaks would be so good. I will do that next time. This will be a repeat recipe - even when my grillmaster returns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOwings
Living In: Lake Wylie, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this dish exactly as directed in the recipe. We thought it was good but not "wow." It was easy to make so if I catch NY strip on sale I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! Steaks and sauce were great! However like someone else did I made my saauce in the pan with the steak drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hvacdoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I didn't make the sauce at all--I just wanted a rub, and this recipe fit the bill without the sauce. I used fresh thyme, so used closer to a tablespoons worth. Bf thought this wasn't that flavorful, but I disagree. I used extremely thin steaks that fried up in just a few minutes--good for sandwiches, I guess, but we ate them by themselves. I may try with the sauce next time, but bf isn't a big fan of sauces with wine, so I thought I'd skip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Solid rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really easy and really good! I did the mushrooms and the steak in the same skillet to cut down on cleanup and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
this particular recipe is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES!!! When I first started dating my husband it was the very first thing I cooked (knew it would make a good impression). When I served it, I found out he doesn't like mushrooms. He still tried it and to this day he tells everyone about how I got him to eat mushrooms :) def worth a shot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Pipi Jones
Home Town: Odenton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We used top loin steaks and loved the rub (used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder). We cooked the steaks first and then cooked the mushrooms in the steak drippings-so good! We used a cast iron pan and they definitely didn't need such long cooking times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The mix of ingredients is great, but the recipe is backwards and wastes all of the great juices the steak will make. It's not in the Bible, but that's a great sin! Make the steak first and then cook the shallots and mushrooms in the pan. When you add in the wine, scrape all the amazing steak bits up and let them mix with the sauce. This tastes way better than just making the sauce with butter. It also saves a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States