Thyme-Rubbed Steaks with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this dish exactly as directed in the recipe. We thought it was good but not "wow." It was easy to make so if I catch NY strip on sale I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! Steaks and sauce were great! However like someone else did I made my saauce in the pan with the steak drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hvacdoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I didn't make the sauce at all--I just wanted a rub, and this recipe fit the bill without the sauce. I used fresh thyme, so used closer to a tablespoons worth. Bf thought this wasn't that flavorful, but I disagree. I used extremely thin steaks that fried up in just a few minutes--good for sandwiches, I guess, but we ate them by themselves. I may try with the sauce next time, but bf isn't a big fan of sauces with wine, so I thought I'd skip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Solid rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really easy and really good! I did the mushrooms and the steak in the same skillet to cut down on cleanup and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
this particular recipe is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES!!! When I first started dating my husband it was the very first thing I cooked (knew it would make a good impression). When I served it, I found out he doesn't like mushrooms. He still tried it and to this day he tells everyone about how I got him to eat mushrooms :) def worth a shot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Odenton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We used top loin steaks and loved the rub (used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder). We cooked the steaks first and then cooked the mushrooms in the steak drippings-so good! We used a cast iron pan and they definitely didn't need such long cooking times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The mix of ingredients is great, but the recipe is backwards and wastes all of the great juices the steak will make. It's not in the Bible, but that's a great sin! Make the steak first and then cook the shallots and mushrooms in the pan. When you add in the wine, scrape all the amazing steak bits up and let them mix with the sauce. This tastes way better than just making the sauce with butter. It also saves a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I only used the rub, but it was delicious. My husband, who's not a red-meat lover thought it was great as well. I DID use a nice cut of beef, but I still think the rub added a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was outstanding! The only change I will make in the future is to add more red wine. This was so elegant and delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States