Thumbprint Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
My family absolutely loved them and my kids enjoyed putting on the thumbprints. My husband suggested I could also use the large side chocolate chips instead of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Great recipe! totally easy! added it to my christmas cookie rep. and gave it as gifts! You could use your favourite icings or jams to switch it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
easy and everyone that tried them loved them, i also put choclate icing in the thumbprints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are great to make with kids. My husband loves them because they're not too sweet and they're so simple. The batch size is small enough that we make them frequently. My 4-year-old loves to make the thumbprint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Yum. I have made them several time. Easy and quick. turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a really good shortbread cookie recipe. The only change to the recipe that I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla. For the topping, I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and spooned it in the middle of each cookie. I also sifted the cookies with powdered sugar after done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this one late night when I couldn't sleep and was board on the internet... Its a pretty easy recipe to follow and would be fun to do with little kids, because of it ease of making (I don't have a mixer so I have to mix by hand) and not needing too many things to make it... I can understand how people can find it tastes like flour and so solve this problem I added a little vanilla, and about an extra 1/2 cup of sugar ( just free poured and tasted till it was a little sweet) I didn't add pecans because I don't usually have any on hand, so instead I put a small teaspoon of Raspberry Jam before baking them in the oven... I put them in a preheated over at 300 degrees for 10mins then took them out and let them cook on the stove off the heat of the pan. I finished them off with a light sprinkling of icing sugar. Not sure how they will turn out and if they will be a hit with the roommates as other recipes have been off this site so far but we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Nice recipe, and I swapped out the frosting and used Nutella instead, also used hazelnuts in lieu of pecans.Very tasty, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I replaced the sugar with Splenda. I found the dough to be a bit dry with the recipe as written, but adding a little butter or subtracting a little flower solved this problem. I also used sugar free raspberry jam instead of chocolate. They taste great, and mine came to about 60 cals a piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Its a pretty good recipe!! I melt chocolate chips, and put a dab in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States