Thumbprint Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
thanx for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The temp must be wrong...mine were a gooey mess. I put them back in the over for an additional 8 minutes but they are still not cooked through. I will try again at 375 but 300 cannot possibly be correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I grew up w/ this recipe as a family Holiday favorite. We didn't fill the thumbprints with jam until after the cookie was fully baked which was @ 325 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom. This recipe does not make very many, so I usually increase the ingredients x2 or x4 for gift giving. We use a variety of jams to fill the thumbprints and the cookies looked like little multi colored jeweled tasties on the serving plate. The jams varieties we use are strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, apricot or peach, grape, and orange marmalade. Not sure why people are having a problem, maybe the butter was too soft or melted. Dough should be soft but able to roll into balls without sticking. Try refrigerating the dough if too soft to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These cookies are delish!! Making them was a breeze!! My kids loved them and I will definately be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
cookies were not cooked thru added time more than once >> then checked other recipes and the temp here says 300 all the other say 350 think this should be adjusted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is the recipe that I have used since a child from the Betty Crocker Cookie Cookbook. However, my recipe calls for 1/2 shortening (like Crisco) so I think that helps keep them from melting too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I've giving 3 stars because they did taste good. I added almond and vanilla extract, rolled in grinded raw almonds. Barely makes a dozen, dough very sticky, really didn't cook up very well. I did use European butter which may have been the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These cookies were something of a disaster. I feel as though I must have missed something, because the dough was a sticky mess and turned into a drippy one in the oven. I managed to salvage them (somewhat) by recreating the thumbprint with the back of a measuring spoon after about five or six minutes of baking, but they were still a mess. Thumbprint cookies are supposed to be cute, and while these tasted good, cute they were not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I was hesitant at first from the other reviews. I made these and they turned out great. I added just a dollop of milk because the batter seemed very dry when mixing. Then the batter seemed too soft when I was done mixing. However, they tasted great. They were a tiny bit crumbly but thats ok. I'll definitely make them again. I also used walnuts instead of pecans because I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Easy and very good. But after baking them at 300 for the specified time, they weren't done. I'm going to try another batch at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States