Throw it Together Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I would be very careful with the timing. I saw the reviews, so I cut the cooking time down to 45 minutes, and I think it was still too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Just what I was looking for to use my quart of home canned apple pie filling! I cooked it 45 minutes and it was perfect using the entire quart. Husband liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
YUM!!! This is better than any other apple cake I've made. I sliced through some of the apples to make smaller pieces (You can do this while they're still in the can) and added a generous 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Eliminated nuts due to allergy issues. Followed recipe exactly after that. Came out great! WATCH THE TIMER! Removed from the oven at 47 minutes and toothpick was clean and cake was perfect. 55 minutes would have killed this. I was worried that there wasn't enough batter for a 13 X 9. It is a great brunch recipe and alternative to my constant Banana Bread. 4 1/2 stars. Was good! Submitted three pix because I couldn't decide which pix was best. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Super easy and really tasty! Watch the time - I pulled it out after 50 minutes and it was already a tad overdone. Might be my oven but haven't noticed this before with other recipe times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
my husband loved it. so did i. thanks for this splendid recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Txncupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was so easy and it's so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I omitted the flour, sugar and baking soda and used a box of white cake mix in it's place. I also adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg to give it a "spice cake" taste. I frosted with my own allspice cream cheese frosting (which is your basic cream cheese frosting using vanilla and 3/4 tsp all spice). This is a super easy recipe even if you aren't as lazy as me and use cake mix. The spices are not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Easy to make, I skipped the nuts, and topped with a glaze. Got rave reviews at work! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I was very skeptical that this would turn out well because it seemed so easy. It came out perfect. Great for a breakfast bread. next time I will probably omit the nuts and maybe add a glaze for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States