Throw Together Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is good. I sauteed some onions, used black beans instead of kidney, added a 4 oz can of chopped chiles, a can of rotel tomatoes with chiles instead of the taco sauce and tomato sauce and 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Also topped with some crushed tortilla chips and shredded mexican blend cheese. This will feed a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
No offense, because I'm sure this will fly as "Mexican" fare in the northern states, but the best thing this Texan can say about it is that it was edible. I was reeled in by the "throw together" concept but should have run away when I read egg noodles was an ingredient. This dish was very bland and unexciting. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Quick, easy, economical. I used Minute Rice (YES Minute Rice!)instead of the noodles since I was really pressed for time and I couldn't warm to the idea of mexican spices and egg noodles. Added green onions and topped with monteray jack and cheddar. My son and husband loved it, I liked it and it made four meals for us. Served it with a lettuce and tomato salad which was perfect balance with this casserole. I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I made changes. It's a great idea and I love recipes that you can tweak and make your own. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This recipe went over well at my house. I made a couple of good changes. I substitutes rotelle noodles for the egg noodles. This looked and tasted better than the egg. I also used ground turkey, which turned out well. If I were to make this recipe again I would substitute black beans for the kidney beans and add more corn or red/green peppers for more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I made this last night and it was a hit. I was concerned about how to do the ground beef, though. The recipe didn't say to brown it first so I just mixed it up raw like the recipe indicated. It cooked up just fine! Delicious! Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
it's so fast, easy and economical! and it tastes great too! My kids and husband fell in love with it right from the start! They think I'm the best cook in the world! *smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was a quick easy recipe that took little effort. I made some alterations based upon other reviewer's suggestions. I browned the meat with onions, added jalapenos, replaced the kidney beans with black beans and the mild sauces for hot sauces. I also added shredded cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I sort of ad-libbed on this, browning the meat in a large non-stick frying pan first and adding all the ingredients there before transfering to a baking dish and adding the noodles. This was great because I could check the flavoring as I went along. I found it a bit bland in flavor, so I added tabasco sauce to taste, before baking. Now keep in mind I live in Southern California, so my idea of bland may be just fine for most people! I served with a spoon of sour cream on each serving and found it to be very enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
What a great idea and easy to make. I also sub black beans, and I use extra olives. Instead of tomato sauce, I used enchilada sauce. I've made it twice, once was a huge batch to bring camping and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
We all liked the recipe and it is quick and easy! I think it would also be good with chopped onion and topped with cheese and a little sour cream. I also cooked the ground beef as it wasn't clear to do so or not and it still was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States