Throw Together Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Good comfort food for a crowd. I quadrupled the recipe for a party of 20 college athletes and there was nothing left. I used low sodium taco seasoning, and topped the casserole with a mexican cheese blend, tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was very good but still lacked sauce. I read reviews before making and used black beans instead of olives and added a can of Rotel drained then topped with 2 cups of shredded cheddar which was perfect. Next time I think I will add Enchilada sauce but overall it was tasty. When baking it all did not fit into the glass dish so I put remainder in a loaf pan which was perfect size and gave us left over for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great way to clean out your food supply. We threw everything that sounded good into this and fested on this quick meal for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gentry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We've enjoyed this several times and it's easy to make changes to. I add a can of tomatoes with mild chilies. I also top it with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Very good. I was skeptical when I saw the egg noodles! I added one can of Rotel for a little kick and a can of diced green chiles because we like the flavor. Sprinkled some mexican blend cheese over the top for the last 15 minutes of baking. Very versatile. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great option for a quick meal! All in my family loved it. I added diced tomatoes, green onions and sprinkled cheese on top. I also substituted enchilada sauce for taco sauce and tomato sauce. I seasoned the meat with the taco seasoning rather than adding it to the other ingredients. In place of the kidney beans, I used leftover chili beans. Overall, this is great and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Overall pretty good/taste. Seemed a little dry added more sauces. Will make again since its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
OK casserole, but way too bland to make again. Even if I worked with it to get it to be more flavorful, I don't think it would ever knock our socks off. Just not what we'd consider "Mexican". There are lots of other Mexican casseroles on this site that we've enjoyed a lot more than this one. A real disapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Thanks Sara, this one, was fun to make. My 4 sons called me today and asked me what was for dinner. They explained they were hungry and coming over to eat. They are grown, well almost.. I looked and found your recipe, it called for, to just throw things together and make a casserole. I had 3 half bags of pasta, wide noodles, shells and spagetti. I cooked all 3 and added them to the beef mixture. Everything I added to the casserole came from my kitchen. I'm on a tight budget right now. I didn't want to go and spend money at the store today. Well, anyway, it was great and the boys almost ate all of it. It was great for a last minute meal!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I liked this recipe. kinda felt like it was a lil random..but after all it is called throw together! I added diced tomatoes and onions...topped with crushed tortilla chips and cheese on top with some sour cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States