Throw Together Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I didn't change a thing and this was excellent, not dry at all. My husband liked it so much he came home asking if there was any left. This was not real spicy so if you like food spicy you might want to consider using hot or medium chunky salsa. I do agree that it needs to be topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was pretty good. I did change the recipe slightly to go with what I had and to suit my familys taste. Browned the beef with onion. Use a can of kidney beans and rice (what I had). Chopped up 2 roma tomatoes and used frozen corn (a cans worth) simmered all this together with the salsa taco seasoning packet while the egg noodles finished cooking. Mixed this together & then poured into the pan. Covered with 1 cup of mexican cheese blend (what I had) and olives, and baked uncovered for about 15 minutes. I didn't have any taco sauce, and I was glad because this was spicy enough to not give to my son... This will go into the rotation, perhaps next time with summer squash to fit more veggies in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl_seeperfect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Very, very tasty recipe for the whole family. God love you for making this recipe. I did not have the Taco Sauce but added 1/4 cup of V/8 Juice and instead of Kidney Beans, I added "whole Pinto Beans". TI did add the Salsa and Taco Seasoning Packet and Tomato Sauce, didn't add the black olives. This recipe, to me, tasted like "Ranch Style Beans" only a little sweeter, but sooo good. Signed Tex Mex Girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
As casseroles go, this was very good. My only complaint, if it can be called that, was that it was more work than "throw together" in that I had to brown the beef and cook the noodles. Still, I knew that going in. The comments around the dinner table were "wow, this looks just like hamburger helper." While we liked it, it sure felt like more work than hamburger helper so I would have liked people to like it more than the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Oh My Goodness I've died and gone to a Fiesta in the sky! This dish is great and really easy to make. It's as flavorful as you make it. I didn't have any olives or taco sauce (which I'm still not 100% sure what that is). Instead of those things I added fresh diced tomatos and 1/4 cup of Tabasco Chipolte which is a beautiful smokey kick. Next time I will add some cheese and I'll also use this recipe for taco filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was very fast and easy to make. The ingredients were all things that I had around, which was nice. I was looking for something different to make and this hit the spot. My 10yr old and 3yr old boys even liked it. In addition I used a cup of tomato sauce, crumbled tortilla chips over top and shredded a bit of cheddar cheese on top. I topped off with sourcream and hot sauce, this gave it even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I only made this dish for my son who insisted on tacos and noodles for his birthday. I thought it a weird request so I thought I would try this casserole. I cooked it covered because I was worried about it being too dry. In fact I added a whole cup of the tomato sauce. I am glad I topped it with cheese the last few minutes of cooking. I replaced left-over grilled chicken for the beef and black beans for the kidney. Definitely add the cheese. It was well received but I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very easy, very good. The nice thing with this recipe is that you can use what you have in the house- many variations. It turned out delicious with the substitutions I made with what I had to work with! Used ground turkey in place of ground beef, didn't have the olives so I skipped them (although I'm sure it would be great with them too!), used whole wheat spiral noodles in place of egg noodles, used enchilada seasoning packet instead of taco seasoning. Added a little cheese on top near the end of cooking time. I think using the enchilada mix was the best substitution I could have made- they did taste like enchiladas! Yum! Even yum after the healthy substitutions I made too! I think next time I will have to cut up some more vegies to mix in (aka hide in for the kiddies). Such as onion, carrot, peppers, etc. One tip for adding healthy vegies to any dish: even though my kids have out grown baby food- I still buy it to add to dishes so I don't have to puree it and they don't see it. Pureed carrots go great in chilis, Mexican dishes, Italian dishes, etc. And sweet potatoes go great in mac and cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very easy, but not exactly "throw together" when you count having to brown the ground beef and cook the noodles, etc. I'm not complaining though...easy, tasty, just add cheese and you're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I modified the recipe a little. I did not have salsa on hand, so I added diced tomatoes. I also covered the top with low fat cheddar cheese. My husband raved about the dish, but my children were less than enamored. I thought that it was great for a quick dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States