Throw Together Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I changed the recipe by looking at what others had to say and I added one key ingredient....1 block of low-fat cream cheese. I mixed the cream cheese with the taco seasoning and then mixed it with the cooked meat. I also used Rotel instead of the tomato sauce. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlwright2005

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
A solid "eh". I added some extra spice, tomato sauce and taco sauce. It's nice to find a casserole that's relatively healthy however. I'll probably keep it in my week night rotation, but continue tweaking it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Well, it wasn't fantastic, it wasn't horrible. Very easy to make. Kids don't like olives, so didn't put them in, forgot salsa (ooops, thats why rating a 4 instead of 3) and put a layer of sharp cheddar cheese on top before baking. Everyone ate it (except my mexican food hating daughter), my oldest son did have seconds, but nobody wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I only gave this a three star because of the original recipe. I found it a tad bit bland for my taste, I had to add more taco seasoning, kicked it up a notch with tabasco which gave it a four star rating. I would suggest reading other reviews to see what you can do to make it your taste. I also added green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was pretty good- I ended up having to add some Tony's- but a great base- next time I will add cheese and use more olives and black beans instead of red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love4chocolate
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Wow! I gave it 5 stars with the changes I made. I did not add the salsa or olives and I used diced tomato verses the sauce. I threw everything else in the skillet with the meat (and diced onion) while the noodles cooked in another pan. When the noodles were done, I topped each plate of noodles with the meat mixture and added cheddar cheese on top for those who wanted it. Popped into microwave to melt it. Sooooo good. Adding like this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love4chocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe was GREAT! Wonderful served with sour cream and tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe based on others' feedback and it came out great. We decided to use it as a filling for whole wheat tortillas rather than a casserole. It was so good. Here are the changes I made. I used black beans rather than kidney. I used rice rather than noodles. (I just didn't think mexican food should be made with noodles.) I used cooked white rice which I made ahead with 3 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups of rice. Instead of the taco sauce and tomato sauce. I used 1 can hot enchilada sauce, 1 can hot rotel and 1-4oz can of mild roasted green chilis. This gave it a nice spicy kick. If you are not a fan of spicy foods, I would use mild Rotel rather than hot. We like things spicy!! I baked this as stated. We then put it into warmed tortilla shells with a Mexican cheese blend and sour cream. YUM!! This recipe makes a lot so I froze some for another meal. I hope it is as good after it as been frozen as it was last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was pretty good. Borderline dry though. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I thought the recipe was a little bland. But defintely worth trying again. I may not have measured my pasta right for it seemed to have to much pasta vs. the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ozawkie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States