Throw Together Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Easy to make and tasty...however, not one that knocks your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Maryland, USA
Living In: North Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I agree with Peach822, I would add onions, rotel tomatoes and mexi-cheese on top at the end. But it was still a hit today at our “Cinco de Quarto” party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a GREAT base recipe. I did my own things to it as well including adding the diced tomatoes, added chiles & taco sauce mentioned above but I also added some cheddar flavored fried onions on top with cheese and changed the beans to pinto. I hate egg noodles so I use pasta shells or macaroni. I prepare this recipe and then put 50% of it away in the freezr before cooking it makes so much! Even then - it feeds us 2-3 times with only 1/2 of the recipe! PS: I tried chunky fresh garlic salsa (LARGE jar) once and it was wonderful! NO matter what I seem to add to or subtract from this recipe it seems to come out of the oven perfect for hungry people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GettnBusyChristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the black olives since I am the only one that likes them. I also added cheddar cheese to the top about five minutes before coming out of oven. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I used black beans, and added some shredded cheddar and then some mexican blend cheese on top. I actually made it a little healthier by using the healthy harvest whole wheat noodles, reduced fat cheeses and 93% lean beef. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
No offense, because I'm sure this will fly as "Mexican" fare in the northern states, but the best thing this Texan can say about it is that it was edible. I was reeled in by the "throw together" concept but should have run away when I read egg noodles was an ingredient. This dish was very bland and unexciting. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Johnson Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I love this casserole! It's also very good using ground turkey instead of beef (if you're watching your weight). If I use the ground turkey, I usually add some tabasco sauce while browning it to add some extra flavor to the meat, but watch out! It can get spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I added a handfull of sliced green onion and a couple tablespoons of fresh chopped cilantro and finely chopped jalepeno pepper. I also tweaked it slightly by adding spicy salsa (about a cup and a half) and it definatley has to have cheese on top. Yummy...my 4 yr old couldn't get enough! I am eager to share this recipe with others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckyh8177

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Omitted olives and added cheese. We thought it needed some kick. Experiment with other add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I used black beans, added some spicy salsa and added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the top. Once, I made those few changes, the recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States