Three Sisters Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I've made it twice in the last three weeks. My husband, who isn't a squash fan loves it, and so do my picky eaters. The flavors compliment each other so well, there's no need to add other stuff. I love how filling and healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
You can buy already peeled and cubed squash at the store which makes this a quick and easy supper. The comments on it needing extra are right, but this soup comes from an old recipe. The Iroquois would not have had access to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I had some hominy that needed to be used, so I decided to try this recipe...it looked very different,yet yummy. I made it as written, but added a minced garlic clove and about 1/2 cup of chopped onion for more flavor. My family really liked this soup! This surprised me...I'd figured this would be another one that I had to eat up by myself. Thanks for sharing...we really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Loved it! Really enjoyed the potatoes in this soup. Ate it with a sandwich for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i loved this soup and will definetly make it again. i did omit the hominy however, so i cant give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweatness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I'm a very beginner cook and this was easy to make. My family enjoyed it very much, including my picky mom and grandma. I taste tested it once it finished cooking and I thought there was too much bouillon. However, after letting it sit overnight, it tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is awesome! Even my pickiest eaters love this. I have 4 small children, plus my brother is living with us right now, so we eat a lot of soups (quick, easy, and can make large amounts). We've made this 3 times already with our butternut squash from our garden. We've been using yellow corn instead of hominy, and it's worked really well for us. Thanks SO much for this recipe! It's my hubby's fave! I'm off to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Ugh...I don't like giving bad reviews, I am really not a very picky eater but this did not go over well for us. I have never had Hominy before and I don't htink we are big squash lovers. I made this because it got good reviews and it was low calorie I figured I would give it a shot. I did omit the butter and flour and just pureed a big portion of the soup to thicken it up. It was good and thick. I added some extra pepper after tasting and a dash of cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe, it was worth the try but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Couldn't believe how good this turned out, and how much everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it! They sopped up the bottom of their bowls with bread when there wasn't enough left to get into a spoon. Soooo delicious. But if you're using hominy, add GARLIC POWDER to balance the flavor. Also, I let this sit overnight in the fridge to thicken, and then reheated to serve it on Thanksgiving. This made it even yummier! Major repeat!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My kids and husband love this, as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States