Three Sisters Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
My friends and I loved it! I also thought that the name and story behind it are so interesting. I will certainly make this again. I would love to see more of your family recipes on here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I tossed all the vegetable ingredients for this in the slow cooker, put it on the low setting for about six hours, stirred in the butter and flour, and had a beautiful, healthy, delicious soup in the end. For seasoning, I used a dash of cinnamon and clove to bring out the flavor of the squash and then a whole lot of black pepper and red pepper flakes to make it spicy! I would have given this recipe five stars if I hadn't had to improvise so much with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Wow, FABULOUS! Had requests immediately to bring this again next year! Makes a SUPER Thanksgiving dish - fun and delicious!! Also works great with vegetarian broths. Easy to make, especially if you can find frozen cubes of butternut. Chop the potatoes small enough for them to cook with the others (I had mine too large and had to cook it all a bit longer). Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Couldn't believe how good this turned out, and how much everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it! They sopped up the bottom of their bowls with bread when there wasn't enough left to get into a spoon. Soooo delicious. But if you're using hominy, add GARLIC POWDER to balance the flavor. Also, I let this sit overnight in the fridge to thicken, and then reheated to serve it on Thanksgiving. This made it even yummier! Major repeat!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My husband made this at a rendezvous in a 35 gallon kettle, yes 35 gallons. Everyone loved it and we had requests to make it again this year. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woman Who Hunts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I had some hominy that needed to be used, so I decided to try this recipe...it looked very different,yet yummy. I made it as written, but added a minced garlic clove and about 1/2 cup of chopped onion for more flavor. My family really liked this soup! This surprised me...I'd figured this would be another one that I had to eat up by myself. Thanks for sharing...we really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
You can buy already peeled and cubed squash at the store which makes this a quick and easy supper. The comments on it needing extra are right, but this soup comes from an old recipe. The Iroquois would not have had access to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is awesome! Even my pickiest eaters love this. I have 4 small children, plus my brother is living with us right now, so we eat a lot of soups (quick, easy, and can make large amounts). We've made this 3 times already with our butternut squash from our garden. We've been using yellow corn instead of hominy, and it's worked really well for us. Thanks SO much for this recipe! It's my hubby's fave! I'm off to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Used the crock pot method mentioned by another reviewer and added a 1/2 chopped onion plus a clove of minced garlic. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BornInaZoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very good, but needed more flavor. I added salt, cayenne pepper, used homemade chicken stock and simmered it for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States