Three Pepper Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Wow! This is so great, and really colorful, which is always nice. It says it serves 4, but these are big servings, and we got 5 out of it with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Most Excellent with Sausage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
What a great rice dish!! I followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved it including my picky 3 and 14 year old kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Harp
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Awesome! I think the turmeric is an important part. I bought it for this recipe and really liked it. I used frozen chicken breasts (2). I added more water to the stock (maybe about 3 cups more) to cover the chicken. Boiled until they looked cooked(about 10-15 minutes) then put them on a plate to cool. I then cut them into pieces and microwaved to make sure it was cooked through (because it was frozen it didn't cook in the center). I followed the instructions for the skillet cooking except I used instant rice - about 4 cups. I brought the rice mixture to a boil and then covered for the rice & peppers to cook. I forgot to add the tomatoes. It tasted wonderful. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this for the first time and I'm not really a "try new things" person, it was FANTASTIC! my 2 year old loved it...not too spicy, not too bland. It was so delicious. I just bolied the chicken all day long in the broth and spices. At the end, I added all the other stuff until it was ready...Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Loved the colors and the flavors, it was a fun dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I got so many compliments on this! We finished it off in no time it was so good! I use brown rice which I cooked in chickn broth or stock, boiled chicken breast in chicken stock/ broth (sometimes I use the leftover stock from boiling the chicken to cook the rice in so we don't waste anything!), and instead of the tomatoes I use a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes cause I had it on hand. (I think that was what made it really good.) I also added a couple diced jalapenos cause I like it hot! Garnish with cheese, or sour cream, or AVACADO! MMMM! Thank you for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was looking for a vegetable dense side dish. This was exactly the Pilaf I was looking for!! The only changes I made were the omission of chicken and turmeric. I didn't put chicken because I had a main dish of chicken to go with this, and I didn't put turmeric, because who the heck knows what that even is!!!! Thank you for this great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Photo by missjingleighpoo5
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I did not put mushrooms in because not everyone likes them. It was very good! I used these really great chicken tender pieces instead of breasts and they shred very nicely after being boiled. Could have maybe used a little more turmeric for I could only taste it sometimes. Next time I might leave out the green peppers, the green ones here tend to be really bitter. So other than the disappointing green peppers, this dish was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missjingleighpoo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I chaned a few things to suite what I had on hand. I left out the tumeric and the fresh mushrooms (wish I had them though). I boiled the chicken thighs in water adding seasonings to it. I used that water for the broth. I forgot to add the onion to the chicken while it was boiling, so I sauteed the onions when the directions said to sautee the mushrooms. I did have to cook my rice longer to get it tender and ended up covering the pan. I added the tomatoes on top so they wouldn't get mushy. I also added some frozen green peas at the tend. Tasted very good and was easily prepared on a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States