Three Pepper Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This is a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Wow! This is so great, and really colorful, which is always nice. It says it serves 4, but these are big servings, and we got 5 out of it with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
What a great rice dish!! I followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved it including my picky 3 and 14 year old kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this, I think next time I might add chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Loved the colors and the flavors, it was a fun dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Had two chicken thighs and three pepper halves and was looking for a recipe. This fit the bill. Decided to make half a recipe planning to follow it exactly. If you cook the rice 20 minutes before adding the peppers I felt you would have raw peppers and rice mush so added the peppers about 8 minutes into the cooking time. It doesn't say to cover the pan, which you will want to do. I felt it was very bland and it took quit a bit of Tabasco to bring it to life. My husband liked it after he had eaten a few spoons of it, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I didn't have turmeric so I substituted oregano and thyme. I liked this ok with rice, but the second time I made it I used couscous instead. I also sauteed the peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes and garlic with some onion in olive oil for a few minutes and added all after the rice/couscous was cooked. Much better! Sometimes I also add a little parmesan cheese at the end. I make small batches of it all the time to bring for lunches to work. It reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Harp
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Awesome! I think the turmeric is an important part. I bought it for this recipe and really liked it. I used frozen chicken breasts (2). I added more water to the stock (maybe about 3 cups more) to cover the chicken. Boiled until they looked cooked(about 10-15 minutes) then put them on a plate to cool. I then cut them into pieces and microwaved to make sure it was cooked through (because it was frozen it didn't cook in the center). I followed the instructions for the skillet cooking except I used instant rice - about 4 cups. I brought the rice mixture to a boil and then covered for the rice & peppers to cook. I forgot to add the tomatoes. It tasted wonderful. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
It took quite a bit of time and effort to make but was worth it, though i wouldn't make it every week. Lovely mix of flavours and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Considering all the fresh vegestables in this recipe, I was expecting a very flavorful dish. Although it smelled good, I found this to be vitually tasteless. It also required a fair amount of prep work due to all the chopping. The portions are also very large and I'm not sure what to do with all the leftovers as no one in my family liked this dish. This recipe just didn't work for my family and I won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States