Three Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
My husband and I both loved this recipe. We will definitely be having this meal often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
My husband and I liked this one--low cal and full of flavor. I used seasoned bread crumbs in place of the crackers, so I should've used seasoned salt on the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
My husband is allergic to beef and pork products. That means that finding new things to do with chicken is always a plus. While searching for something other than the same ole same ole, I happened across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. Overall, this recipe is wonderful. It not only has a good flavor but it also ends up being a very beautiful dish to look at. In fact, my husband and I almost didn't eat it because it was too pretty. If you are accustomed to spices in your food, I would recommend adding a healthy dose to this recipe. While the flavor of the chicken and peppers is tasty, for those of us that love spicy food - it needs a little something more. I used an orange pepper instead of yellow and I served it over a bed of no-yolk wide egg noodles with a splash of butter and salt. It was delicious! I'll definitely be making this one again - with LOTS of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Thought this was a wonderful recipe. My son is on a low carb diet for football training and I just put a bit of the saltines on his. Added a bit more chicken broth and flour (for 4) and was just great! Also added a bit of tobasco sauce when cooking the peppers. Didn't need anything else but I might serve a green salad with it next time. Absolutely tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Fairly bland when made as is. The cracker crust started burning long before the chicken was fully cooked. We had to microwave it for a few minutes to get the center cooked. With a substantial amount of additional spice or flavor this could be a decent dish. We thought pineapple and soy for more of an asian flavor or lots of thyme for a more country flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I was very disappointed at this recipe. My whole family found it bland and uninteresting. I too found that the crumb coating started to burn before the chicken was done, and I ended up having to cut my chicken into smaller pieces in order to cook it adequately without further burning. Adding more broth helped make more sauce, which helped a bit. I don't plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a tasty chicken dish that is great for a family meal, but I wouldn't serve it to company. It's quick and easy to prepare, but does require some tweaking. I used 2 chicken breasts but doubled all the other ingredients. I didn't have saltines so used bread crumbs mixed with a heaping teaspoon each of basil and oregano, 1/2 teaspoon each of seasoned salt and garlic powder. I also added 1/2 cup dry white wine to the sauce. I had to add more butter when browning the chicken. I'll definitely make this again as we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I too used seasoned bread crumbs (because that is what I had), and I added more seasoning to both the bread crumbs and the gravy. I also had to add extra butter, but overall we thought it was great and I will make it again! Thanks Shirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I was very very dissapointed with this recipe. I enountered two problems with this recipe. The first problem I encountered was that this recipe did not provide adequate time to fully cook the chicken. Simply browning the chicken leaves it raw. The second problem is that fully cooking the chicken will cause the breading to burn. My solution was to follow the recipe as written, but then add all the ingredients together and simmer them on low heat covered for 5 minutes. This allowed the chicken to cook throughly. The flavour was alright, but it did not taste good the next day and since I live alone I like being able to enjoy the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is really good, but only if you actually use about 3 or 4 tablespoons of butter. 1 1/2 tbl does not do the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States