Three Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
While this is very good, it does need some tweaking for next time. Even though the chicken is covered in saltines, it still needs more salt, as do the veggies. I cooked the veggies in only 1/2 T. butter. I added the rest to cook the chicken, not just brown it. The butter wasn't really enough, but I was using a non-stick pan, so it was fine. Next time, I will double the chicken broth and flour since it really wasn't enough to even moisten the pasta I topped it with. Then it might not qualify for a healthy MyPlate recipe, but it will taste better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This came out very tasty, but I did make some changes, as per some of the reviewer suggestions. I didn't have saltines, so I used Italian breadcrumbs and a real egg for the chicken. I took other reveiwers advice and cut the chicken into smaller pieces. They cooked nicely and didnt overbrown. I also love spicier food, so i added half a jalapeño to the pepper blend. While making the gravy, I added some thyme, rosemary, Greek seasoning and lots of black pepper to spice it up. I served the pepper gravy over mashed potatoes with the chicken set on top with a little parsley for garnish. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Good recipe, but needs spicing up. Definitely pound the chicken breasts or finish off in the microwave after browning, like I did and it turned out fine. I also used Panko breadcrumbs with lots of Italian seasoning, garlic salt and pepper which helped. I also recommend doubling the butter and the chicken broth/flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made just a couple of changes to this recipe...I used panko bread crumbs instead of crackers and real eggs instead of egg substitute. Plus I used mostly green peppers since it was all I had on hand, and I omitted onion. (Boyfriend hates onions.) Maybe it was the missing onion, but I didn't think this was that great. The pepper flavor was overwhelming to me, barely even tasted the chicken at all, and the broth/flour sauce stuff that it was sauteed in just didn't taste all that good. i made it as written except for the subtle changes so I'm not sure what was missing...maybe I just don't like bell peppers enough to warrant the excess of flavor in the dish. It wasn't awful just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by earthchickie
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The dish turned out ok, with a few changes. It doesn't say to season the veggies, and I forgot but they tasted yummy w/o. I used bread crumbs mixed w/ italian herbs and Vegeta seasoning. I just added a bit of sauce on top of the peppers. The sauce needs some more seasoning this way though. I served it with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I adjusted the recipe to be a little less healthy. :) I used an egg instead of the egg substitute and a lot of extra butter when cooking. I also substituted Italian bread crumbs for the saltine crackers and Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is really good, but only if you actually use about 3 or 4 tablespoons of butter. 1 1/2 tbl does not do the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I was very very dissapointed with this recipe. I enountered two problems with this recipe. The first problem I encountered was that this recipe did not provide adequate time to fully cook the chicken. Simply browning the chicken leaves it raw. The second problem is that fully cooking the chicken will cause the breading to burn. My solution was to follow the recipe as written, but then add all the ingredients together and simmer them on low heat covered for 5 minutes. This allowed the chicken to cook throughly. The flavour was alright, but it did not taste good the next day and since I live alone I like being able to enjoy the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I too used seasoned bread crumbs (because that is what I had), and I added more seasoning to both the bread crumbs and the gravy. I also had to add extra butter, but overall we thought it was great and I will make it again! Thanks Shirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States