Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
4 stars for ease of preparation. I have been making versions of this roast for years. It can be made with 1 can beef broth instead of the gravy mix and water; water & gravy- or broth-, and Italian dressing mix; or 2 pkg Italian dressing mix, beef broth -or water & gravy mix-; any combination works. The sodium content will vary with what you end up using. It falls apart so you can easily shred for sandwiches. Also I've made with top or bottom round for less fat. I usually fix mashed potatoes with it and don't salt them. Leftover beef and juices are good for beginnings of soup next day- refrigerate and then skim off the fat that has hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
2 thumbs up! Of all the slow cooker roast recipes I have tried... there have been many due to my hectic schedule, this is by far the easiest and most tasty. I added quartered potatoes and baby carrots to the cooker to complete this meal. The coloring of the veggies due to the packet mixes were inviting. The flavor was exceptional. Thanks for such a keeper killer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gas City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My father in law made this same roast. Really good. I always braise the meat before I add it to the crockpot and add a sliced onion or two. Phenom gravy and really good over garlic/rosemary mashed potatoes. NOTE: If the inclination takes, you can use lemon-lime soda instead of the water. Also, if you're pinching pennies, this also works with stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Couldn't find Italian packet, so substituted 1/2 cup Italian salad dressing and omitted 1/2 cup of the water to compensate... Delish! I will never make slow cooker roast any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Photo by TMCKASUN
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this for dinner last night (we were having a potluck kinda thing... I made this beef for sandwiches). I only changed one thing and added another. Instead of water I used beef broth. I added 1 George Killians Irish Red beer in for flavor. Holy Ale this was the most tender beef roast w/incredible flavor! Everyone fell head over heels for this! :) I of course directed them to this site! Always find gems here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really easy and the kids loved it. Chuck can be a bit fatty, so I strained the grease out of the "sauce" after cooking and before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Instead of the water, I use a can of beef broth and add a sliced onion. Truly delicious... my family always goes crazy for this. They like it over egg noodles as opposed to adding taters and I'll usually add carrots to the mix. Great recipe, Kerstin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good. The meat was very moist and tender. The flavor was good, but not "Wow." I added potatoes to it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Well....I reviewed this before it was published, but they didn't move my review! SO, here you go again! WONDERFUL! This recipe is the BEST Roast I have ever had! I have made it several times, and it's always perfect! I have used the packets on chicken also, and it turned out really good, and used just the italian dressing/water on a pork tenderloin for pulled pork and it was great, but I will NEVER cook a roast any other way! Thanks Kerstin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I've made this on several occations, although never in the slow cooker. Always in the oven. As is, it is extremely salty! I like the flavor, though, so I keep trying it. I've tried using reduced sodium gravy mix, and it's still super salty. This last time, I replaced the brown gravy mix with cracked peppercorn gravy mix for steak (1.25 oz). It doesn't have any sodium at all. It was SOOO much better, and still plenty salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States