Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
2 thumbs up! Of all the slow cooker roast recipes I have tried... there have been many due to my hectic schedule, this is by far the easiest and most tasty. I added quartered potatoes and baby carrots to the cooker to complete this meal. The coloring of the veggies due to the packet mixes were inviting. The flavor was exceptional. Thanks for such a keeper killer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gas City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
4 stars for ease of preparation. I have been making versions of this roast for years. It can be made with 1 can beef broth instead of the gravy mix and water; water & gravy- or broth-, and Italian dressing mix; or 2 pkg Italian dressing mix, beef broth -or water & gravy mix-; any combination works. The sodium content will vary with what you end up using. It falls apart so you can easily shred for sandwiches. Also I've made with top or bottom round for less fat. I usually fix mashed potatoes with it and don't salt them. Leftover beef and juices are good for beginnings of soup next day- refrigerate and then skim off the fat that has hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
don't know what if anything, i did wrong-but nobody would eat this--too peppery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good. The meat was very moist and tender. The flavor was good, but not "Wow." I added potatoes to it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Was a huge hit and soo easy to make!!! Made this for my mom and grandma for mother's day!!! Even the kids liked it! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TMCKASUN
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this for dinner last night (we were having a potluck kinda thing... I made this beef for sandwiches). I only changed one thing and added another. Instead of water I used beef broth. I added 1 George Killians Irish Red beer in for flavor. Holy Ale this was the most tender beef roast w/incredible flavor! Everyone fell head over heels for this! :) I of course directed them to this site! Always find gems here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is THE best roast EVER! Since I have found this recipe, I have shared it with all my friends and we all agree....this is too simple and way too yummy to not make! This has replaced the roast recipes we all previously had! Great recipe Kerstin! glad it got published!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My father in law made this same roast. Really good. I always braise the meat before I add it to the crockpot and add a sliced onion or two. Phenom gravy and really good over garlic/rosemary mashed potatoes. NOTE: If the inclination takes, you can use lemon-lime soda instead of the water. Also, if you're pinching pennies, this also works with stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My whole family thought this was really good! I used zesty italian dressing mix because that was all I had on hand. It turned out wonderful and there is no leftovers): Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this today only exception was I used spicy ranch dressing mix .The flavor was great put it over mashed potatos.Brought some to work and a co worker loved it so much I almost didnt get to taste it ..Thank you so much for the recipe was looking for something different that roast and plain ole gravy and this was it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States