Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I would have given it a better rating but it was just too salty for my husband and I. All those packed have too much sodium. I cooked it the stated time and it was a little tough. Will have to go back to the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I always read reviews for advise on tweaking and changes based on others who have tried the dish. So what I did was based on others advice. I used the Ranch & Italian packs as a dry rub. Seared the roast in olive oil till brown on both sides. Then I mixed the brown gravy (I bought the low sodium brown gravy mix)in with a big 24 oz can of beer. The flavor of this roast was like none I have ever had before. This will be my go-to recipe now when I serve roast! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Making this today. Made it before and it was TO DIE FOR for sure. Today I'm using a better cut of beef as my hubby is asking for Traditional Roast Beef with Mashed Potatoes and Mushroom Gravy. "Boneless Bottom Round Beef Roast" is what I'm using. Steamed Broccoli with Cheese Sauce and Crescent Rolls. Now That is an Old Fashion Sunday Dinner which I haven't made in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nailbiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really was not that impressed with this dish. My husband ended up finishing this. It's edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My brother made this for dinner tonight and it was outstanding! He used a bottom round roast and added an extra cup of water. During the last 3 hours of cooking time he added cubed potatoes, sliced carrots, fresh string beans and sliced celery. He cooked on low for 9 hours. The meat was fork-tender. He made gravy with the juices and it was out of this world. Definitely a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made this for the dinner the other night and it is probably the best roast I've ever made! I had two chuck roasts (totaled 5lbs.) so I simply increased the water an added about another half packet of the brown gravy. Also, because of the increase in weight of my roast, I cooked on high for about 3 of the 8 hours. Finally, it was not too salty at all as others have commented. This one is a keeper and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It had a nice flavor but was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is as easy as it gets, and it is really delicious! I brown my roast before I put it in the slow cooker. If it's handy, I replace the water with beef broth, but it's just fine with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Young

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy preparation and delicious........very tender beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was very tasty, but way too salty! I would recommend getting low sodium versions of the packets if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States