Three Olive Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is SOOOOO good. People ask me all the time "what is this"?! I don't use kalamata olives because usaully I forget so 1 use one can of black olives and one jar of spanish olives. I also suggest on uping the oil and garlic(I love garlic) I also added some black pepper, it gave it a nice kick. a GREAT party spread so quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Very good but I added some ingredients, which made it even better. I added a handful of grated Parm cheese and a handful of chopped walnuts. Everybody loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Guests ate this up! AWESOME (I love olives) Changes: 2 T balsamic vinegar, 1.5 T olive oil, 2-3 garlic cloves. For those of you without food processors, don't be afraid to use your blender. Just add EVERYTHING all at once, or it's too dry to blend properly. Be sure to mince the garlic before adding it to the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is similar to tapenade. Try it with a tuna salad, on a tuna salad sandwich, or on a sandwich with baked salmon and avocado. If you're near a Trader Joe, you can buy a jar of tapenade. Another olive concoction is what TJ calls a Muffaletta, also sold in jard. ALL JUST WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I made this for a party- it was very popular! I served it in a bread bowl with baguette slices on the side and garnished with whole olives. The balsamic vinegar adds a great sweet/sour note to the saltiness. If you love olives, try this spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is SOOOO yummy! I was trying to emulate an olive spread we would get at a deli near where we used to live. This is a near perfect match! I only used 1 tablespoon of the balsamic because I didn't want it to be too sweet -- I like the saltiness! I am interested to try it with the required amount of balsamic though -- perhaps next time. For serving, I toasted some baguette slices, spread a layer of homemade Garlic Spread (recipe on this site by CKBK), and then topped with the olive mixture. It was an AMAZING appetizer!!! Will make again. Very pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I just made this for Easter and had everyone asking for the recipe. It's fantastic. You've got to be a big fan of olives though....which my family is. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I just made this and it is wonderful even before refrigeration. I added about one-quarter of a cup of grated parmesean and loved the flavor it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I enjoyed this spread. If you are an olive fan, you will too! It is a bit salty but that is to be expected with it being 99% olives. I think it would be interesting to try adding some grated cheese to it and maybe not chopping it so finely, leaving it a little chunkier. It makes a good amount so cut the recipe in 1/2 for a smaller gathering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added some roasted red pepper and artichoke hearts. I also added a bit more liquid due to the extra ingridents (red wine vinager). I took it to work at the cafè and we slathered it on everything (exspecially some tuna burgers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States