Three Chile Dry Roasted Tomatillo Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My first attempt at making my favorite salsa. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
A perfect salsa recipe! I love making fresh salsa and have tried many varieties. This salsa has such a nice well rounded flavor. Cooking the salsa for 5 minutes really does take the edge off the raw tomatillo taste. We love hot salsa, yet didn't think this was to hot. I even added several extra Pequin peppers. No need to search any further!!! Stop right here and make this salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Love, Love , Love this salsa recipe and I live in Texas, home of Tex-Mex. I use it when I make my enchiladas suisas and serve it with grilled lime chicken as well. I roast the vegetables in the oven so that I don't have to watch them too closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Everyone loved this. I loved the roasting of the pepers and tomatillos. I did not have the pequin pepper but I added a pablono and lime to the salsa. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was amazing. The dry-roasting brought out wonderful flavors. Make sure you have your kitchen exhaust fan on though! Also, my local market didn't have the recipes chiles so I used 2 jalapeno, 2 serrano, 1 poblano and 1 anaheim so I am certain my end result was far less spicier than the posted version. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
OMG! We have hit the jackpot with this recipe! My DH has been trying to recreate the authentic mexican salsa that his step-mother makes for years, with no success. I think we have finally figured out how to make it!! He loves it! I think the key part of the recipe is heating up the salsa to get rid of the raw flavors of the peppers and tomatoes. I even made red salsa using roma tomatoes instead of tomatilloes and it came out great! My DH put it on EVERYTHING and has requested that we have this salsa on hand at all times :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Couldn't find any peppers but jalepenos and a mistery pepper that I did use and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YUM! This salsa was delicious. I couldn't find pequin chile peppers so I used 2 habaneros and and 1 green chile pepper in place. I blended it all up in the food processer and it was great! Spicy but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good. Will do again. Better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very spicy -- beware. I used a blender, not a food processor, and it worked fine. The salsa was a little less chunky than traditional salsas, but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States