Three Chile Dry Roasted Tomatillo Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Wowza! This salsa really packs a punch thanks to roasting the ingredients before hand. I could not find pequin chiles, so after reading up about them and their heat level, I decided to just double the serranos and jalapenos. Also, I'm a cilantro fanatic, so I used an entire bunch, and I didn't add the salt. The end result? A delicious, flavorful salsa that is quite spicy, but oh so addictive! Thanks HMAUSER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
A perfect salsa recipe! I love making fresh salsa and have tried many varieties. This salsa has such a nice well rounded flavor. Cooking the salsa for 5 minutes really does take the edge off the raw tomatillo taste. We love hot salsa, yet didn't think this was to hot. I even added several extra Pequin peppers. No need to search any further!!! Stop right here and make this salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Love, Love , Love this salsa recipe and I live in Texas, home of Tex-Mex. I use it when I make my enchiladas suisas and serve it with grilled lime chicken as well. I roast the vegetables in the oven so that I don't have to watch them too closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I thought I had messed this up, cause I read the ingredient list first, prepared everything including unhusking the tomatillos, as that is what the ingredient list says. Then when I got ready to cook, I saw that the directions say to remove the husks AFTER dry roasting. That said I went ahead anyway and followed the rest of the directions. The result was amazing. Im sure it is easier to remove the husks first, so I would definately do that next time anyway. This salsa verde was pretty much perfect! It will be my go to recipe from now on. I couldn't fint pequin peppers, so like many other reviewers I added double the amount of jalapeno and serrano peppers. The result wasn't hot enough for our tastes, so I will adjust for that next time. One cooking note: The garlic and serranos will blacken much faster than the tomatillos and jalapenos. Next time I will add them in stages, as garlic does tend to become bitter if overcooked, and it would have been charcoal if I had left it in for as long as the rest. I had to fish around and remove half way through. I removed the tomatillos when the skins were blackened, just as they were splitting. Great recipe, wonderful authentic flavor. I have a very happy and impressed husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Everyone loved this. I loved the roasting of the pepers and tomatillos. I did not have the pequin pepper but I added a pablono and lime to the salsa. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very spicy -- beware. I used a blender, not a food processor, and it worked fine. The salsa was a little less chunky than traditional salsas, but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was amazing. The dry-roasting brought out wonderful flavors. Make sure you have your kitchen exhaust fan on though! Also, my local market didn't have the recipes chiles so I used 2 jalapeno, 2 serrano, 1 poblano and 1 anaheim so I am certain my end result was far less spicier than the posted version. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
OMG! We have hit the jackpot with this recipe! My DH has been trying to recreate the authentic mexican salsa that his step-mother makes for years, with no success. I think we have finally figured out how to make it!! He loves it! I think the key part of the recipe is heating up the salsa to get rid of the raw flavors of the peppers and tomatoes. I even made red salsa using roma tomatoes instead of tomatilloes and it came out great! My DH put it on EVERYTHING and has requested that we have this salsa on hand at all times :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Love the dry roasting and mix of chiles. My husband is mexican- we've discovered that serrano peppers often give a better flavor than jalapenos alone in general. Also, if you want to avoid the chile haze in your house you can roast the ingredients on the grill. Just dont lose your serranos and garlic through the grates! Use aluminum foil or a pan. For a delicious milder version of green salsa you can use all or part poblano peppers which are traditionally peeled after roasting. Dunk them in ice water to help loosen the skins and don't stress out if you can't get it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simply amazing and so authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States