Three Chile Dry Roasted Tomatillo Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great flavor, but a bit hotter than I expected. Couldn't find pequin chiles, so doubled the serrano and jalapeno. Added a bit of lime juice and some extra onion and cilantro, and this paired really well with the slow cooker guisado verde recipe from this site! Just know it's gonna be hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simply amazing and so authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great! I halved the recipe and couldn't find the pequin peppers, so I just left them out. I also removed the seeds from the jalapeno because our family doesn't like things so spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this as directed; it did not disappoint. Nice heat, great taste. If you're having trouble finding the pequin chiles, you can find them dried at Penzy's. I use them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
i used three halapeno peppers because that's all that i had avalible. i'm not one for hot food, and this turned out a bit too intense for me does any one know if cooking it will increase or reduce the intensity??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I thought I had messed this up, cause I read the ingredient list first, prepared everything including unhusking the tomatillos, as that is what the ingredient list says. Then when I got ready to cook, I saw that the directions say to remove the husks AFTER dry roasting. That said I went ahead anyway and followed the rest of the directions. The result was amazing. Im sure it is easier to remove the husks first, so I would definately do that next time anyway. This salsa verde was pretty much perfect! It will be my go to recipe from now on. I couldn't fint pequin peppers, so like many other reviewers I added double the amount of jalapeno and serrano peppers. The result wasn't hot enough for our tastes, so I will adjust for that next time. One cooking note: The garlic and serranos will blacken much faster than the tomatillos and jalapenos. Next time I will add them in stages, as garlic does tend to become bitter if overcooked, and it would have been charcoal if I had left it in for as long as the rest. I had to fish around and remove half way through. I removed the tomatillos when the skins were blackened, just as they were splitting. Great recipe, wonderful authentic flavor. I have a very happy and impressed husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great recipe, real simple. The tomatillos took a little longer than I thought they would. It kept well in the fridge for 5 days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would have liked this better if I had omitted a jalapeno- it was too spicy for me to really get the tomatillo taste I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Couldn't find any peppers but jalepenos and a mistery pepper that I did use and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good. Will do again. Better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States