Three Chile Dry Roasted Tomatillo Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simply amazing and so authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great! I halved the recipe and couldn't find the pequin peppers, so I just left them out. I also removed the seeds from the jalapeno because our family doesn't like things so spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this as directed; it did not disappoint. Nice heat, great taste. If you're having trouble finding the pequin chiles, you can find them dried at Penzy's. I use them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
i used three halapeno peppers because that's all that i had avalible. i'm not one for hot food, and this turned out a bit too intense for me does any one know if cooking it will increase or reduce the intensity??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I thought I had messed this up, cause I read the ingredient list first, prepared everything including unhusking the tomatillos, as that is what the ingredient list says. Then when I got ready to cook, I saw that the directions say to remove the husks AFTER dry roasting. That said I went ahead anyway and followed the rest of the directions. The result was amazing. Im sure it is easier to remove the husks first, so I would definately do that next time anyway. This salsa verde was pretty much perfect! It will be my go to recipe from now on. I couldn't fint pequin peppers, so like many other reviewers I added double the amount of jalapeno and serrano peppers. The result wasn't hot enough for our tastes, so I will adjust for that next time. One cooking note: The garlic and serranos will blacken much faster than the tomatillos and jalapenos. Next time I will add them in stages, as garlic does tend to become bitter if overcooked, and it would have been charcoal if I had left it in for as long as the rest. I had to fish around and remove half way through. I removed the tomatillos when the skins were blackened, just as they were splitting. Great recipe, wonderful authentic flavor. I have a very happy and impressed husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great recipe, real simple. The tomatillos took a little longer than I thought they would. It kept well in the fridge for 5 days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would have liked this better if I had omitted a jalapeno- it was too spicy for me to really get the tomatillo taste I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Couldn't find any peppers but jalepenos and a mistery pepper that I did use and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good. Will do again. Better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was amazing. The dry-roasting brought out wonderful flavors. Make sure you have your kitchen exhaust fan on though! Also, my local market didn't have the recipes chiles so I used 2 jalapeno, 2 serrano, 1 poblano and 1 anaheim so I am certain my end result was far less spicier than the posted version. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States