Three Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious! There are endless possibilities using the basic recipe. Made my own sauce from scratch with lots of Italian sausage, garlic, onions and spices. Used a zip lock with corner cut off to fill the uncooked pasta. Filled pasta with white cheeses (skipped the ricotta - don't care for it and used cottage cheese in its place). Also used some of the sausage in the cheese mixture plus an egg to firm it all up. Covered the pasta with the sauce and baked covered with foil for the first 30 min and then uncovered and added a bag of mozzarella for the last 10 then set the oven to broil for the browning of the cheese. Plenty of leftovers and even some for the freezer. Thanks for a keeper. Both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave Otto
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I Agree with those who said to jazz up the sauce. Other than that, this was a wonderful recipe. whole family loved it! Labour intensive but worth it. I may try stuffing raw shells and adding water to the sauce to cook the pasta in the oven rather than boing it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe & it was easy to make and very tasty - I just found it to be a little dry even though I used a whole jar of sauce but I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa Caro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It is very easy and filling! Second time I made it I added an egg and spinach to the cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe had no flavor. No herbs or seasonings. I was very disappointed in it. I added oregano, garlic, and basil....yet, the manicotti was flat and overstuffed with just a cheese mixture. I was disappointed in this recipe and will stick to my own....which includes a meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I found this recipe very tasty..easy way to fill them is to fill a zip lock bag and cut the corner, cuts a lot of the fuss out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I agree that the sauce needs to be pumped up, but the author of this recipe doesn't mention what type of sauce to use... that, dear cooks is of course left up to you! Since my family loves my homemade sauce with sausage, that it's what I used. I cooked the pasta under al dente to make them easier to handle and piped in the cheese mixture with a pastry bag. A large baggie with a hole cut in the corner works well too. Less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
In the interest of time I bought ready to bake noodles and filled them. I make sure to doll up the sauce with herbs and garlic. Also do this. Dish with meat mixture and cover with meat sauce. Tip for filling cheese mannicoti use a freezer bag and cut one corner. Pipe in cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and boiled water and then removed pot from heat and placed manicotti in it for 5 minutes and then stuffed them. The shells baked perfectly the rest of the way in the oven. I also added sweet italian sausage to my sauce. My husband and I loved this. Will definitely be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband and a dinner guest. We all loved it! Plus, it was so easy to make. I made it ahead and kept it in the refrigerator until we were ready to put it in the oven. For breadcrumbs, I purchased a dried breadcrumb with Italian seasoning. This even tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States