Three Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is really good, but you can cut down on cooking time by not cooking the manicotti, stuff them "raw", so to speak. Add a cup of water to your spag. sauce....heating it in the microwave before you are ready to bake your pasta.....pour over your manicotti before baking...cover and bake!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This dish would garner more compliments if just a little care went into the sauce. Chop up some onions, and saute them in olive oil for a couple of minutes on high heat, throw in minced garlic for another minute. Add some fresh basil for one more minute, and top with shredded or julienned carrot. Stir in your saute with the sauce before adding to the pan of pasta; you'll add more volume, more flavor, and the dish will look even nicer. Plain "spaghetti sauce" reminds me of a cafeteria, and should be avoided! (Bonus: throw on a very small portion of grated asiago on the dish in the last ten minutes, and finish off uncovered. The cheese will brown slightly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Very good! Based on previous complaints of this dish being bland, I used 1/4 cup fresh, shredded spinach (instead of parsely) added 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the cheese mix. Very tasty turnout! My only complaint is filling the pasta...very messy and somewhat time consuming. Overall, good and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very very good, When I made my sauce I added ground beef, which I brown with basil, fresh garlic, Italian seasoning, season salt and freshly ground black pepper, I also added some wine to my sauce and a little sugar. I did not have any monterey cheese so I used Parma instead I also did not add the bread crumbs to my cheese mixture. I only boiled my shells for 5min as they would cook more in the oven, did'nt want my dish to taste over cooked. I stuffed my shells, poured my sauce over then I covered and baked, with the last ten mins of bake time I removed the cover and top with lots of mozzarella the baked uncovered ten min more. Yummy!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
We had this last night and loved it. Thanks to the advice of others I only cooked the manicotti for 4 minutes making it much easier to handle while stuffing...it cooks up great this way. Per others as well, I added 1/4 tsp. garlic powder and 1/4 c. fresh chopped basil. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wow! I've never made any kind of stuffed pasta before tonight, but this was fairly simple and so delicious! The sour cream really helps make the cheese mixture creamy instead of grainy, like ricotta can be sometimes. I didn't have any Monterey Jack, so I just used an Italian cheese blend. I also added garlic, per some other suggestions, and just snipped a corner off a plastic bag to stuff the shells. Thanks for a great recipe! It will go into the "rotation."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I loved these! I didn't cook the noodles first, which made them much easier to stuff. I jused leftover spaghetti sauce, added just a little water to the sauce and a little to the bottom of the glass dish. Everything turned out great and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was a great recipe. My family and I loved it. We only changed a few things. I used 3 cups of spaghetti sauce instead of 2. I brushed the manicotti lightly with olive oil after cooking. I spiced up the filling with garlic powder and italian seasoning. I also sprinkled on some shredded parmesian on top of the sauce. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Decided to try this recipe over the holidays and it came out very well. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe to suit my tastes. I used a five cheese italian blend to mix in with the ricotta. I also added in some frozen spinach that I had thawed and drained well into the cheese mixture. Also added in some chopped fresh basil, garlic and Tony Chachere's seasoning to the cheese mixture. I omitted the bread crumbs because I didn't see the point in putting them in. I browned a pound of ground beef and added that in to the spaghetti sauce which had been doctored up with extra garlic, fresh basil and some italian herbs. I boiled my pasta only 5 minutes as others suggested and then used kitchen shears to cut the manicotti open. It made the filling process so much easier and you couldn't tell after the manicotti was baked! I baked the manicotti about 40 minutes and then sprinkled the top with more of the five-cheese Italian blend. Baked about 10 minutes more to melt the cheese. This came out tasting wonderfully cheesy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
My whole family (ages range from 12-46) loves this dish. Try using fresh mozzarella balls cut into strips instead of grated dry mozzarella. DELALLO's roasted garlic sauce is the best spaghetti sauce I've found for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States