Three Cheese Macaroni with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This recipe is o.k. Perhaps I used too much macaroni, as I found it to be too dry for my tastes. The kids' reaction was lukewarm, as was my husband's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
It's okay. The added tomato flavor was nice but the cheese tended to melt and clump together into balls rather than spread like a sauce through the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I used only 1 lb. of medium shells but 2 cans of tomatoes and more cheese than called for, cutting the cubes into smaller pieces - used colby/jack, cheddar, and a few cut up slices of muenster. I also mixed in about a tablespoon of butter into the hot, drained shells and mixed in the cheese, tomatoes, S&P,and some garlic in the hot pot to melt it down a little before putting into baking dish. Came out GREAT and the leftovers reheated better than expected, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
A new favorite in the family. My husband and I have it almost monthly. :) We tried it also with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Delicious and a little bit healthier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I really liked it! A good simple meal for a quick weeknight dinner. I too cut back on the amount of macaroni, but used 1.5 cans of stewed, diced tomatoes, some butter and two crushed garlic cloves in addition to the cheese. Oh and I used sharp cheddar, monterey jack and mozzarella (all I had on hand), as well as a spoonful of sour cream, and it came out just fine. I imagine some cooked ground beef, turkey or shredded chicken would also go well with this dish. Lots of options for a meal like this one and served with a nice side salad and some bread, it makes an easy and quick dinner for a hungry family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
We really liked this recipe with a few changes. I used less macaroni and rotel tomatoes instead of stewed. Also added a little butter, garlic salt and seasoned salt. I used shredded mexican blend cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROXNCHUXMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is wonderful. To make it a 5 star, I added some garlic and onion powder. This could give Pizza Hut pasta a run for their money! Great mix of cheeses, the tomatoes pop with flavor outta the oven, and the combination of powders really top it off. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayci_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This has been a family recipe for over 50 years - my mom and grandmother ran a restaurant and this was on our menu every Friday! A few changes we make - we use canned whole tomatoes and squish them up with our fingers - they just always seem juicier and some folks don't like stewed tomatoes or always have them on hand. We also add a lot of ground black pepper (I prefer fresh cracked but you can use ready-ground too). Just as a note - this is NOT a creamy mac and cheese recipe - not meant to be! The cheese will be rather clumpy and not spread throughout but it is marvelous that way! One hint - if you do have leftovers, saute them in a little butter/margarine the next day - even better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Fried 1 pound of hamberger meat and used rotel (mild)...Used sherdded cheese. Topped with crisp bacon. Luv this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was not bad, but it really only uses two different cheeses - colby and cheddar. All cheddar is white unless coloring is added and then it is orange. Perhaps one cheddar was mild and the other was sharp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States