Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Oh my! Such a disappointment! I made it for Easter this year. I tripled it, put it in 2 larger Pyrex than it called for. I sliced the potatoes THIN, and switched sour cream as recommended. I baked them for 2 hours (longer as recommended). They came out of the oven looking spotty brown and beautiful. We served them to everyone and then I reached over to my 5 and 6 year old's plates to break them in bite sized pieces with my fork. That is when we realized, that after 2 hours in the oven, the potatoes were completely raw! And there was too much water in the pan too. Such a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a great addition to our Easter dinner. Everyone loved them, they turned out perfect with a wonderful crusty top! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My first shot at scalloped potatoes...YUMMY!! A few small changes, closer to two lbs baking potatoes, 1/2 cream 1/2 sour cream, 4 crushed garlic cloves, minced onions. Didn't have provolone, used muenster. Oven a bit hotter, about 375, same time. I don't know if made a difference in texture, but, the sliced potatoes soaked in water for about 2 hours. We loved it! The next day, heated up with ham for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dtherio
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this last night. I used a bit more potatoes and provolone cheese and added a bit of sliced onion and about 2 cups of cubed ham. When testing the "doneness" of the potatoes, I apparently didn't test in enough places. About 1/2 of the potatoes were cooked appropriately, the rest were a bit under-cooked. Total cooking time was 70 minutes. I was surprised at how much liquid there was especially considering that I used a fair amount of additional potatoes than what the recipe called for. In the future I would cut back on the cream to about 1/2 of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and these potatoes came out soupy, greasy and the sauce looked 'curdled'. The flavor and smell was great, but the appearance and presentation was disappointing. Not sure where this went wrong, because I was really excited about this recipe and the wonderful reviews it received previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this today for Easter Brunch. I did make these changes to minimize the fat content. Doubling the recipe, I used about 10 potatoes, 4 cloves of garlic, used 3 cups of 2% milk instead of the heavy cream, used half the amount of each of the three cheeses called for (cheddar, provolone, and parmesan) and no butter. They turned out great! (And will be replacing the old traditional recipe I've been using for ages!!) (5 stars from me, with these changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just made this recipe for Easter Dinner. The potatoes were undercooked and there was too much liquid! I put them back in the oven for an additional 30 mins and they turned out great! My family liked then so much, they ate what they took the first time around and waited for the potatoes to finish to get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was great! My family loved it. I doubled the recipe nd it took closer to 1 1/2 hours for the potatoes to be really tender. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moosup1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this version of scalloped potatoes! I will make them again! I topped mine up with bread crumbs and melted butter, made it nice & crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbiemaltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States