Three Can Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This chowder was FABULOUS! We have told everyone about it since I made it. Instead of the half-and-half, I used 3/4 cup whipping cream and 3/4 skim milk. I also added about 3 additional tablespoons of skim milk during cooking to thing the chowder just a bit. Sprinkled with a few bacon bits and some sharp cheddar at serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The roomates and I loved this. I made a couple changes, including: adding 1 can of reg. corn, doubling the green onion and cooking reg. shrimp in garlic butter instead of canned shrimp. Great recipe. will use again and maybe add celery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love this recipe, its so yummy and no one would think it 's so simple to make. I used a can of cream of mushrooms and real potatoes, with frozen shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used a can of clams instead of shrimp and was thoroughly overjoyed with this super-easy recipe's flavors. Though next time, to suit my own tastes, I will used more bacon, more cayenne pepper, and replace 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the half-and-half with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe rocks! Modified version: Substitute condensed cream of mushroom soup, whole milk. Add 1 diced celery stalk, garlic powder to taste, diced 3 turkey/spinach sausages, 1 cup frozen peas & carrots mix, large prawns, 4 cups of hot water, 4 cups fresh spinach & 1 cup of fresh broccoli buds (florets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
nice and creamy. hold corn and try 2 cans of potato soup and 2 of shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I recommend using the creamed corn the recipe calls for instead of regular. The slightly sweet taste of the creamed version pulls the whole recipe together. It's even better the next day and heats up nicely. I added an extra can of shrimp and a splash of milk. This was the best chowder I've over had! ETA>>>For a quick put together, I use a full 2.8 ounce package of real bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful chowder!!! And so easy to make! Next time I will omit the cayenne pepper because it was a bit too hot for our liking. Amazing new recipe for me! Thank you 4moores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was awesome and so easy! I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and my husband just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Just the taste I have been looking for!!!! Wonferful speed/ scratch soup. I did not change a thing. Thats how I rate and review. Hearty, thick, rich and good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States