Three Can Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just made this chowder and it is fantastic! I did make 2 changes, but it was just due to personal preference. I added a second can of cream of potato soup and I used fresh shrimp that I quickly sautéed instead of the canned. I will definitely make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I prefer to make recipes from scratch. Typically, the recipe tastes better and I feel better for having prepared it with all fresh ingredients. That noted, this recipe includes several ingredients from cans and despite that, tastes as if it were completely homemade. Restaurants would have no shame in serving this to their customers, just be sure to hide the soup and corn cans. Next time, I will add more cayenne pepper. I nearly doubled the volume recommended, and could not discern any sense of heat at all, without adding more. I wasn't looking for a lot of heat, just a hint and it just wasn't there with the amount as written in the recipe. My whole family enjoyed this recipe and gave me several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
loved this 1st place winner in the office annual soup contest!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very easy recipe!!! I add regular corn in mine and leave out the cream cheese!! Delicious and definently is a hit a gatherings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Every once in a while you come across a simple recipe that surprises the heck out of you because it tastes phenomenal. This is one of those recipes. Granted its not exactly healthy but so what? Once in a while its OK to treat oneself. Those who said it tastes gourmet quality...I definitely agree. Just made it for lunch for my husband and 88 year old father. They both said to definitely save this one. My only changes were that I only had about 3/4 cup half and half so I made up the rest with skim milk. I also used (two cans) canned medium shrimp which is my preferred size. Otherwise exactly the same. Don't be afraid to try this one just because it comes out of cans. No one and I mean no one will ever know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved it! Made just a few tweaks--added a can of cream of shrimp soup instead of the baby shrimp and two cans of minced clams; also sauteed regular onion and garlic at the start of the recipe. Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this for dinner one night and every one LOVED it. now it is a family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I only made one substitution--instead of half-n-half, I used one can evaporated milk. I also added a touch of Frank's Hot Sauce. I was surprized by this soup, it wasn't bad. I think this would make a good clam chowder using canned clams as well. I'd make this again but I'd play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent camping recipe! We added a baking potato since we had an extra one and this was so "rib-stickin' good" and we'll be adding this to our camp rotation and for home too! I'll defintely add another can of med shrimp or fresh (depending on where we camp next).. we may even add fresh clams which we had access to in Dosewallips WA (great manila, littlenecks, horse clams and mussels)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Just the taste I have been looking for!!!! Wonferful speed/ scratch soup. I did not change a thing. Thats how I rate and review. Hearty, thick, rich and good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States