Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I used fresh raspberries & blackberries plus frozen blueberries (thawed & drained) and added 1 tsp cinnamon & 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the filling. I made this an open-faced pie with no top shell, baked it at 350F for 45 minutes, and then set it in the fridge for two hours before serving and it thickened up no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRobin58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Good but tart for my taste. Next time I'll add more sugar and cornstarch so its not too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Looks great hope it tastes a good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this with pre-made crust and strawberries and raspberries only (just because that's what I had on hand). I loved it, but even though I love tart and sour things, I have to say this was sour even by my standards. Maybe the blueberries make the difference, but I will add more sugar next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonnaMBM
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Followed exactly except I any had strawberries and blueberries so I did 2.5 cups of each. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Absolutely perfect pie filling!!! *note -- I did not use the crust recipe -- I used rolled crusts due to time constraints. Followed the recipe for the total amount of fruit, but used a different mixture of berries based on what I had, also including 2 small peaches. The ratios of fruit, sugar, and cornstarch were right on. Not the least bit liquidy like others complained: be sure to bake it until it's bubbling fully, and that you cool completely before cutting. Making a lattice top crust shows the berries beautifully !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made other types of berry pies, but never with Strawberries. While the pie tasted good, I was disappointed in how soggy the bottom crust was. I did add additional corn starch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before filling with the fruit but it didn't help. I also chilled the fruit to no avail ( I used fresh fruit--could that be a problem?). I don't feel the instructions really did a good job of addressing this issue. If I do make this again, I will par-bake the bottom crust so that it can hopefully withstand the liquid from the berries. I also think the recipe missed opportunities to improve the appearance & taste of the pie by recommending an egg wash and super on top. All in all, a recipe that could use some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by ALLIDAWN
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this pie for the Fourth of July and everyone loved it! I made a few changes: instead of using all Crisco, I used 1/3 cup Crisco and 1/3 cup butter. For the berries I added strawberries, red raspberries, blueberries and blackberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The crust was flaky but flavorless. Even adding the changes listed in the comments didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made it with frozen strawberries and blueberries, and even though I increased the cornstarch to 1/4 cup it still came out very watery. The filling was also too sweet, maybe it would work with raspberries and blackberries, but the blueberries were too much. The crust was great though (made with butter instead of shortening because that's what I had). I brushed the top with butter and sugar and it came out nice, tender and crisp. I wish I had pre-baked the bottom shell before putting in the fruit, though, because it came out kind of doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States