Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made other types of berry pies, but never with Strawberries. While the pie tasted good, I was disappointed in how soggy the bottom crust was. I did add additional corn starch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before filling with the fruit but it didn't help. I also chilled the fruit to no avail ( I used fresh fruit--could that be a problem?). I don't feel the instructions really did a good job of addressing this issue. If I do make this again, I will par-bake the bottom crust so that it can hopefully withstand the liquid from the berries. I also think the recipe missed opportunities to improve the appearance & taste of the pie by recommending an egg wash and super on top. All in all, a recipe that could use some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by ALLIDAWN
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this pie for the Fourth of July and everyone loved it! I made a few changes: instead of using all Crisco, I used 1/3 cup Crisco and 1/3 cup butter. For the berries I added strawberries, red raspberries, blueberries and blackberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The crust was flaky but flavorless. Even adding the changes listed in the comments didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made it with frozen strawberries and blueberries, and even though I increased the cornstarch to 1/4 cup it still came out very watery. The filling was also too sweet, maybe it would work with raspberries and blackberries, but the blueberries were too much. The crust was great though (made with butter instead of shortening because that's what I had). I brushed the top with butter and sugar and it came out nice, tender and crisp. I wish I had pre-baked the bottom shell before putting in the fruit, though, because it came out kind of doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this today for Father's Day and no one could wait the extra day to try it. It was the best berry pie I've ever made and I've tried several recipes! At the suggestion of others I sprinkled some of the sugar/cornstarch mixture on the bottom crust before filling. This was a GREAT tip, the crust was perfect. I used 1 c. sugar and 1/4 c. cornstarch and 1 1/2 each cups of four berries: strawberry, raspberry, blackberry and blueberry. I also added 2T of tapioca to the filling before baking to help thicken the filling (I was overly concerned about a runny filling). The filling was perfect even after only cooling a few hours. We dotted the pie with a T. of butter cut into small dice. Finally we sprinkled the crust with cinnamon sugar before baking. This is a keeper. I won't be trying other recipes anymore because this is the best berry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The crust was REALLY salty not sweet gross! The filling was okay, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this using frozen mix of blueberry raspberry strawberry and blackbeery and used 3/4c sugar 1/2c cornstarch used most of it in the berry mix and the remaining in the bottom of the crust to keep from getting soggy (although I used my own crust recipe) I added some butter before putting on the top crust and it turned out great topped with vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I actually made it a 4 berry pie it came excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made this several times with fresh fruit. Not sure why sometimes there is a ton of liqiud and others not. Wondering if it has to do with the berries being in season and having more juice in them. I would increase the corn starch if you think you have extra juicy berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband on valentines day. We both loved it! This was my first time making a homemade crust, and so the crust wasn't very pretty. I had a hard time getting the edges even, they were pretty jagged. Once cooked though, the pie itself tastes delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and used all fresh berries. I saw some others added lemon juice for tartness, but mine was plenty tart with the fresh berries! I let it sit overnight before cutting and it was perfect. Not runny at all. I would probably add some sugar to the top crust next time to add a little sweetness to the crust. This was fabulous and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States