Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have made this more then once using thawed and fresh berries. Both times it was watery after baking!!!! I have upped the cornstarch to 4-5 TB with fresh and used 7TB with the thawed. When I made it the first time I thought chilling it would help thicken it. After it chilled it was still watery so I just froze it and then to serve BOTH pies I would only thaw long enough to cut and then serve in a bowl with ice cream the family liked it that way but this just is a watery pie. I know others have comment on that and others say it's perfect. I will keep looking! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! You MUST try. DO increase the cornstarch to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Yum, yum yum! This is the best pie I've made yet. My only alterations were up the blueberries to 2 1/2 cups and decrease the raspberries to 1 cup. Also just 1/4 cup of sugar and a little sprinkle of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This pie filling recipe was excellent and easy to make. It wasn't runny. I made 2 batches, refrigerated one whole pie overnight and it came out terrific and even better. I will make this again. I cheated with the crust and used the roll-out Pillsbury pie crust, 1 was for a crust and a half crust for lattice top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
A great recipe! I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe because we don't eat Shortening; I also increased the corn starch to 1/4C at some others recommendation. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Love this pie! It's so easy to make, I do add more berries than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Runny, anyone? I followed the recipe of the filling as I had a made crust already. The only thing I did was that I used FROZEN berries as apposed to fresh ones. I baked it a bit over time just to see if it thicken and to brown the crust a bit and I added in a bit more cornstarch. Still when I pulled it out of the oven it was liquid. Yummy though, but more cobbler than pie in my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made this pie for Father's Day. I followed other reviews suggestions of 1/4 cup corn starch and to dust the pie shell with flour as the pie was kinda runny. I put in 6 cups of berries (2 cups of each berry) and the pie turned out nicely - not runny. I felt the raspberries had the most flavor of the other berries and I couldn't taste the strawberries at all. It was mentioned to use lemon juice and/or nutmeg which I would do next time. I think I would also switch out the strawberries for another berry. The raspberries made the pie. My dad thought the pie was sour but I thought 1/2 cup of sugar was just right althought others used 3/4 cup of sugar. I didn't make the crust but used store bought. I would make the pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I don't personally eat pie, but I like to make it and this one is great. I've made it 3 times and once I had to use blackberries instead of raspberries and according to the people who ate it, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ermiller2012

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Tasty pie. I increased the cornstarch and sugar as other reviews suggested and I'm glad I did. Into I might even try 1/3 c cornstarch next time and 3/4 c sugar. All in all it was a nice change from my normal blueberry pie, verne though that remains our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States