Three Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This soup has great flavor and it is so easy to prepare. My husband loved it. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream, grated cheddar cheese and green onions. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Very quick and easy, but is lacking any SPICES! It needs some chili powder, cumin, red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I substituted a can of refried beans for one of the cans of kidney beans and added cummen, chili powder, chili pepper as well as 4 cloves of crushed garlic. Topped it off with grated cheddar cheese, sour cream and green onions. Very good, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
My husband and I both love this recipe, but I made quite a few changes. I didn't have chicken broth, so I added 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves to the recipe, chopped into very small pieces (pinto-bean size). I sauteed the onion & bell peppers along with 3 minced garlic cloves over medium-high heat in 2 tablespoons oil, and added the raw chicken when the veggies were tender. When the chicken was done, I added 2 1/2 cups water, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, and ONE 15-oz. can of each of the following: diced tomatoes, refried beans (as one reader suggested), navy beans (drained), pinto beans (drained), and light red kidney beans (drained). I brought the whole mixture to a boil, then turned the heat down to low, covered and simmered for 30 minutes. We wouldn't have liked it without the chicken, but now it's one of our favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I tried this last night and it turned out great! I did dice up about a pound of pork and browned it with the onion & bell pepper. I also used pinto beans with jalepenos in them - YUM. Also served it with cornbread. VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Excellent! I made this for a church supper and it was a hit, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
We loved this recipes! Very easy to make. I do though add some cumin, chili powder, and a seeded jalapeno pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEKRIKET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I make this and my family loves it. I call it Fiesta Chili - I add more seasonings and sometimes chicken as stated in another review. You can do it hot or mild adding cummin, garlic, chili powder, jalapeno or other green, yellow or red pepper along with the bell peppers, and a handfull of frozen corn. It really looks nice and colorful and tastes like a fajita in a bowl. If you want to make it richer add a can of cream of chicken soup to the stock. You can also cut down on the sodium if you cook the dry beans instead of adding canned. You can top it with sour cream and/or shredded cheese and scoop it using corn chips as a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I added minced clove of garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp chili pwd & 1/16 tsp red pepper (avoid if you don't like heat). I also added 2 tsps of chicken base (I love Minor's. When the soup was done, I removed 3 cups and pureed with my immersion blender then returned to the soup. Excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This would have been a 3-star recipe, but it gets 4 just because it was so unbelievably easy and fairly tasty for so little work. I think this would be good sprinkled with cheddar and served with tortilla chips. I had it with some pita bread and it was good. Needed a little salt, but that's easily fixable. Thanks for a good, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States