Three Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great base recipe, prob. good as is to feed picky people or children. I added my own spices (1 tablespoon of chili powder plus one teaspoon cumin), which hit the spot on this wintry evening. I also pureed the softened vegetables (with the tomatoes). Those changes made the broth sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I served this over rice with cheddar on top. It was great! The only reason that I did not give 5 stars was it was lacking spices which I added myself....cumin, chili powder, ceyenne, season salt, and garlic powder (a little of each)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
We increased the ingredients to serve 60 at a church meal and made it spicy! Worked wonderfully for us: simple, nutritious and satisfying. I give it only 4 stars because recipe did not call for spices (chili powder and cumin), which really made it delicious. Could easily be made vegetarian by substituting vegetable stock. Very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was so easy to make and really good. It really tastes great with the cheese on top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This would have been a 3-star recipe, but it gets 4 just because it was so unbelievably easy and fairly tasty for so little work. I think this would be good sprinkled with cheddar and served with tortilla chips. I had it with some pita bread and it was good. Needed a little salt, but that's easily fixable. Thanks for a good, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I added minced clove of garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp chili pwd & 1/16 tsp red pepper (avoid if you don't like heat). I also added 2 tsps of chicken base (I love Minor's. When the soup was done, I removed 3 cups and pureed with my immersion blender then returned to the soup. Excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I make this and my family loves it. I call it Fiesta Chili - I add more seasonings and sometimes chicken as stated in another review. You can do it hot or mild adding cummin, garlic, chili powder, jalapeno or other green, yellow or red pepper along with the bell peppers, and a handfull of frozen corn. It really looks nice and colorful and tastes like a fajita in a bowl. If you want to make it richer add a can of cream of chicken soup to the stock. You can also cut down on the sodium if you cook the dry beans instead of adding canned. You can top it with sour cream and/or shredded cheese and scoop it using corn chips as a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
We loved this recipes! Very easy to make. I do though add some cumin, chili powder, and a seeded jalapeno pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEKRIKET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Excellent! I made this for a church supper and it was a hit, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I tried this last night and it turned out great! I did dice up about a pound of pork and browned it with the onion & bell pepper. I also used pinto beans with jalepenos in them - YUM. Also served it with cornbread. VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States