Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was great! I made it in the crockpot yesterday with ground turkey. It was VERY hot. I was able to eat it, but my boyfriend (who loves spicy food) was only able to eat a few bites. Two of the cans of tomatoes with green chilis I used were "extra hot" (with two "mild") which has made some of my other recipes really spicy, but I think the habaneros are the reason. I think I will use half the amount of habaneros next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I only used two of the peppers and substituted medium for hot salsa and it was great. Spicy but not over the top. I won my chili cook-off at work with more than twice the votes of the second place chili. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
While this chili is NOT for the faint of heart, it is GREAT for those who want a quick, spicy, superb chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is the best meat chili I have ever tasted. It had a winning combination of hearty, spicy and meaty. I also added some spicy Italian sausage(not on the recipe). If you're having a get-together where you need a large satisfying dish, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I really like the spiciness of this chili (I used all ingreds. but just two peppers), but the salt content is unbelievable! I was so surprised that not one other reviewer said anything about it. I can't eat much more than a couple of spoonfuls because it is unbelievably salty!!! I wish I hadn't put the taco seasoning in, or the salsa. If I ever make this again, I will definitely look for a healthy low salt salsa and find an alternative for the taco seasoning. I only used a half a pack. If you have hypertension, your sodium intake should only be 1500 mg a day. One serving of this chili without any chips or anything else will be all you can have. If you don't, then, one an a half bowls will be your daily allowance for sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
MY MOM HAD MADE CHILI THE NIGHT BEFORE AND WHEN SHE TASTED MY CHILI SHE DECIDED TO THROW HERS AWAY AND EAT MY LEFTOVERS...BUT THERE WASN'T LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not only was it delicious but it was easy enough to make. Nice burn to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This chili was GREAT! The only change I made to the recipe was I used cans of Extra Hot Rotel tomatoea. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
not only is the best chili i have ever made, this is the best chili i have ever tasted. this recipe was simple to follow and it was easy to increase/decrease ingredient amounts to my liking. this was a huge hit with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
We like spicy, but either my habaneros that I grow are too hot, or 4 is too many! Overpowered the taste of the chili. Even my 21 year old, who eats habaneros raw, didn't care for the flavor. I think it would be great if modified for strength of habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States