Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great Recipe! I skipped the habeneros...and just used japs...(and half the amount). Still very hot!!....but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not only was it delicious but it was easy enough to make. Nice burn to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I really like the spiciness of this chili (I used all ingreds. but just two peppers), but the salt content is unbelievable! I was so surprised that not one other reviewer said anything about it. I can't eat much more than a couple of spoonfuls because it is unbelievably salty!!! I wish I hadn't put the taco seasoning in, or the salsa. If I ever make this again, I will definitely look for a healthy low salt salsa and find an alternative for the taco seasoning. I only used a half a pack. If you have hypertension, your sodium intake should only be 1500 mg a day. One serving of this chili without any chips or anything else will be all you can have. If you don't, then, one an a half bowls will be your daily allowance for sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Too hot for me...but the part I could eat was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Missouri, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My husband of 35 years says this is the best chili I've ever made. I cut back on a little of the heat (only 2 Habanero's, medium salsa, only 1 T. red pepper, and one of my cans of Rotel was mild.) It's excellent chili, but still a little on the spicy side for my taste. If you don't have taco seasoning on hand, use Taco Seasoning I by Bill Echols, it's great and you can cut back on the salt you put into it. P.S. I have now won two chili cookoff contests; today there were 23 other entries and I won a grill. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I loved this chili! But instead of using a jar of salsa and taco seasoning, I used a jar of Amish chili mix/sauce that would be pretty much equivalent to those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
The reason I gave it only four stars is because I had to leave out the peppers--it would've been much too hot. It was spicey enough without them. (Thank you previous reviewers). I didn't add the taco seasoning mix but if I had some in the house, my curiosity would've made me add it to see how much more flavorful it could possibly have been. I cooked it in a crock pot for eight hours after browning the meat and served it with cornbread and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This is one of the tastiest chili recipes I've come across. However, I'd recommend using 1-2 habaneros instead of the suggested 4 - and two is pushing it. I used two and it's super hot, I almost can't eat it. It goes well with a light beer, it really cools your mouth down. And don't forget to wear gloves when you cut the peppers! Ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was great! I made it in the crockpot yesterday with ground turkey. It was VERY hot. I was able to eat it, but my boyfriend (who loves spicy food) was only able to eat a few bites. Two of the cans of tomatoes with green chilis I used were "extra hot" (with two "mild") which has made some of my other recipes really spicy, but I think the habaneros are the reason. I think I will use half the amount of habaneros next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Used jalapenos w/ pinch of seeds instead of habaneros and it was plenty hot. I also subbed 1lb Bob Evan's Spicy Pork Sausage for 1lb beef. Was short 1 can tomato/chile, also a few dashes hot sauce instead of salsa and it came out fine without. I like spicy hot food but this pot was too hot for me so made I it for friends. The consensus was very tasty & caliente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States