Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I had a taste for some chili. I made this chili last night it was excellent. I started out making the soup in the crock pot but had to transfer to a large pot. This receipe as it states makes a huge portion. The only thing I did different was I used only 3 habaneros because I am fimiliar with the pepper and I did not want it to be so hot I could not eat it. I alos used a pack of chili seasoning instead of taco. After reading the reviews about the salt content I decided to only use a half a pack of chili seasoning. This receipe turned out awsome. I loved it. As some of the reviewers say it is a bit salty so be mindful of that when preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My husband made this and it was great. There is truth to the "slow burn" but we like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Fantastic. Only downside is my roommate at it for 3 meals a day so it didn't last as long as I'd hoped. Good for the recipe, bad for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Chili was really good my husband and kids enjoyed it! I altered it as someone suggested to keep it from being so spicy. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 2 cans of Rotel instead of 4 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chile peppers. I used jalapenos instead of 4 habanero peppers, seeded and minced. Also, another tip just in case it comes out soupy or with lots of liquid use 4 tsp of flour it will help absorb the the liquid and thicken it to the right texture. Thanks for recipe and recommendations from reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Spicy but soooo good! My husband gobbled this up. I used sirloin for the meat, and topped it with onions, cheese and sour cream, and served it with cheese quesadillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very spicy! Our family enjoys hot food so this is a keeper. This is a good chili to serve over rice or cornbread for those of you that can't handle the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i made this chili with a few very minor adjustments. the fiery aftertaste was spectacular, and i won 3rd place in a chili cookoff! for next year, ill make some more changes. see my 3-4-5 chili on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith & Amy Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was SOOOO good! I had to do a little adjusting, as I can't get habanero peppers, so I used jalepenos instead. I also left out the salsa, and used 2 cans of Rotel brand tomatoes, and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. I doubled the cumin, and left out the black and red pepper, as I have a hot chili powder I special order. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndrnsandi1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
My husband loved it. And that's saying alot because he loves his Spicy foods. Next time I may add some Sausage or Kielbasa though. It came out a little soupy. It was even better after it was refrigerated for a night though. Great on Sourdough Bread. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
A pretty darn good chili! Spicy, but not so much that my eyes water!!! Made this for myself last night. It's cool here in Chicago (fall is setting in early...), so I was in the mood for something to warm me up. I was worried that this would be WAY too spicy (I enjoy spice, but not EXTREME heat), but was pleasantly surprised : ) Since I was only serving 1, I made 1/2 the recipe (expecting left-overs). Couldn't find chili beans in hot sauce, so subbed for mild ones (Busch's 16 oz. can) & only used 1 (15.5 oz.) can of dk. red kidney beans instead of buying bth. dk. / lt. kinds & only using 1/2 of ea. can (seemed wasteful). Also subbed a 1/2 lb. of JD zesty hot sausage for some of the beef (added a 1/2 lb. ground round to equal 1 lb. meat as directed). Used med-heat chunky salsa (I didn't have the hot stuff). Everything else was exact, including prep. Next time, I would like to prepare the chili in my sc, and, to make it suitable for my bf (who doesn't like beans in his chili - or at all), I'd omit the beans, up the meat to compensate (2 lb. worth) & add 1/2 a can or so of chili sauce (to make up for the chili beans with sauce). Served hot off the stove with some shredded (sharp) cheddar, Frito's scoops & plenty of water to tame the heat! I'm still in search of the perfect chili, but this will do for now. Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States