Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very spicy, makes a huge portion of chili. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Quick, easy, inexpensive, and flavorful. I'm not a lover of overly spicy food, so I used one seeded jalapeno pepper instead of the 4 habaneros. I also got the chili beans and salsa in the mild flavor. Ended up using about a 1/4cup of chili powder and added about 1/8 cup of garlic and onion powder. The recipe didn't specify if we are suppose to drain the canned beans and tomatoes... I didn't drain some of my cans of tomatoes and my chili was a little too soupy so I had to add another can of drained beans... so my advice is to drain everything except the chili beans. The salsa will add the right about of liquid back into the chili. I served ours with sour cream and cheese, the end result was yummy with a little kick... no burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Easy, quick and hot enough for even my slow burn snob friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love this chili. I add extra kidney beans and corn. Since I am a weenie, I leave out the habaneros. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My family LOVED this!! I made a few changes though: I cut the recipient in half and made it in the crockpot. I used one can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and one can of diced tomatoes in chili sauce (it was all I had on hand) I also used only 1 can of Chili beans in mild chili sauce and a can of corn in place of all the beans (I'm not huge on beans) I didn't have habenaros, so I used jalapenos instead (diced and most of them I removed the seeds, I did leave a few seeds). This chili deffinatly packed a punch!!! Even the 6 yr old liked it ( she loves spicy food) my boyfriend couldn't get enough of it and was sad there wasn't more leftover for lunch today. Deffinatly going to keep this and use again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aamccall21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarinda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is the best chili recipe! We love spicy food, so this was a good find for us. I serve it with the suggested shredded cheese and sour cream, as well as sweet corn bread. I often add sweet corn to the chili as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Motty Mott
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
The only adjustment I'd suggest is cutting the black pepper in half. It overrides all of the other flavors too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motty Mott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made this for a Super Bowl Chili cookoff and won the contest! I halved the recipe but still used three cans of beans and it was perfect size for my 5-quart slow cooker. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used some jalapeno in place of habanero - it had the perfect amount of spice! I also used chipotle-flavored salsa and put one chipotle pepper in the chili; the flavor was subtle but it really added to this recipe. I used all low-sodium or "no salt added" ingredients for this, and only about 1/4 of the taco seasoning and it didn't come out too salty. I highly recommend this recipe if you want a really hearty, dinnertime chili with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Love this recipe, and have gotten a few compliments on it too. The changes I've made are to use jalapenos rather than habaneros, no taco seasoning, add some cayenne pepper and use only 2 cans diced tomatoes. I've also made it with ground turkey, not beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. It has the heat that I expect and want in a chili. It also has a lot of flavor to compliment the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States