Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My husband made this and it was great. There is truth to the "slow burn" but we like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Fantastic. Only downside is my roommate at it for 3 meals a day so it didn't last as long as I'd hoped. Good for the recipe, bad for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Chili was really good my husband and kids enjoyed it! I altered it as someone suggested to keep it from being so spicy. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 2 cans of Rotel instead of 4 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chile peppers. I used jalapenos instead of 4 habanero peppers, seeded and minced. Also, another tip just in case it comes out soupy or with lots of liquid use 4 tsp of flour it will help absorb the the liquid and thicken it to the right texture. Thanks for recipe and recommendations from reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Spicy but soooo good! My husband gobbled this up. I used sirloin for the meat, and topped it with onions, cheese and sour cream, and served it with cheese quesadillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very spicy! Our family enjoys hot food so this is a keeper. This is a good chili to serve over rice or cornbread for those of you that can't handle the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i made this chili with a few very minor adjustments. the fiery aftertaste was spectacular, and i won 3rd place in a chili cookoff! for next year, ill make some more changes. see my 3-4-5 chili on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith & Amy Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was SOOOO good! I had to do a little adjusting, as I can't get habanero peppers, so I used jalepenos instead. I also left out the salsa, and used 2 cans of Rotel brand tomatoes, and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. I doubled the cumin, and left out the black and red pepper, as I have a hot chili powder I special order. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndrnsandi1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
My husband loved it. And that's saying alot because he loves his Spicy foods. Next time I may add some Sausage or Kielbasa though. It came out a little soupy. It was even better after it was refrigerated for a night though. Great on Sourdough Bread. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
A pretty darn good chili! Spicy, but not so much that my eyes water!!! Made this for myself last night. It's cool here in Chicago (fall is setting in early...), so I was in the mood for something to warm me up. I was worried that this would be WAY too spicy (I enjoy spice, but not EXTREME heat), but was pleasantly surprised : ) Since I was only serving 1, I made 1/2 the recipe (expecting left-overs). Couldn't find chili beans in hot sauce, so subbed for mild ones (Busch's 16 oz. can) & only used 1 (15.5 oz.) can of dk. red kidney beans instead of buying bth. dk. / lt. kinds & only using 1/2 of ea. can (seemed wasteful). Also subbed a 1/2 lb. of JD zesty hot sausage for some of the beef (added a 1/2 lb. ground round to equal 1 lb. meat as directed). Used med-heat chunky salsa (I didn't have the hot stuff). Everything else was exact, including prep. Next time, I would like to prepare the chili in my sc, and, to make it suitable for my bf (who doesn't like beans in his chili - or at all), I'd omit the beans, up the meat to compensate (2 lb. worth) & add 1/2 a can or so of chili sauce (to make up for the chili beans with sauce). Served hot off the stove with some shredded (sharp) cheddar, Frito's scoops & plenty of water to tame the heat! I'm still in search of the perfect chili, but this will do for now. Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great Recipe! I skipped the habeneros...and just used japs...(and half the amount). Still very hot!!....but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States