Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Very tasty, I used splenda instead of sugar, making it diabetic friendly. I also added 1 can whole kernal corn (drained) 1 can peas, (drained). I choped my onion instead of in rings. I increased the amounts of oil, splenda and vinegar because of adding the extra canned vegetables. We love this salad, goes great with the slow cooker roast beef recipe I have posted here on allrecipes.com. Thanks for the great recipe. One other time I made it, I added chopped celery AND a small jar of pimento's. Really colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I like this recipe with less sugar. and one of the things I like to add is a can of chick peas, and I always use purple onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is wonderful. I was always looking for a three bean salad recipe with a specific taste and this was it! Other ones leave a vinegar-y taste in your mouth..NOT THIS ONE! **I only used a half a cup of sugar and it was perfect ***UPDATE*** I made a HUGE batch of this for my outdoor wedding and there was none left over. I also bring it to any party where I'm asked to bring a side dish because it seems like everyone loves it **Although it said to refrigerate 12 hours my sister came over about 4 hours after I put it in the fridge. We both ate some (it was still watery of course because I didn't let it sit long) but I strained it and we both agreed it was GOOOOOD **I will bring this salad to EVERY cookout I go to. It was SO easy to put together and the results are comparable to a restaurant! o.k I'll stop now...I just can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
A good basic bean salad recipe, but way too heavy on the sugar for my taste. I cut the sugar by a 1/4 cup and it was still a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This salad is one of my families favorites!! I use red wine vinegar instead of reg. It's better the longer you wait to eat it, if you can wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I make this with garbanzo beans added using my grandmother's recipe. This looks about the same, however, I use chopped fresh celery instead of the celery seed and chopped green peppers in it, too. (chopped small) This is something my grandma has taken to every family reunion since I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This is a great recipe for three bean salad! Per the recommendation of other reviewers I reduced the amount of sugar, but next time I will use the full amount. I like the salad on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This three bean sald is delicious and very easy to make. I added some fresh green beans, steamed for a few minutes to the recipe, making it a four bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is exactly like my recipe..been making it for years..i like to bring it to work for lunch ..light n filling..good source of fibre too...i use splenda sugar and olive oil for less fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I loved it. I have been looking for a good Three bean salad for ages. Thanks. Alice N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States